Is it spring yet?

Even with snow piles sporadically placed along the roadside and icy chunks covered in what looks like it could still be fresh snow in the shade, it sure feels like spring today. The lion must be busy elsewhere, because much to my enjoyment, it’s nothing but lamb out there.

I could almost feel guilty for sitting here at my desk, almost. I’ll consider this my lost hour, the one I should have slept through, in the form of sleeping late, as we sprang forward some hours ago. But I awoke to the chirpy sounds and cheepy calls of the starlings as they were no doubt raiding Biscuit’s food bowl.

I thought about going back to sleep when I saw that the teen was still sleeping but the aroma of the hot coffee brewing snapped me into reality. The teen is still sleeping… After a hot cup of Folgers (I’m out of Kona), I felt myself dragging.

So many things to do, laundry, cleaning, cooking breakfast, and that beautiful sunshine pouring in through the kitchen windows. Rather than go outside and be disappointed that it is yet another deceptive day, pretty two ways, regular pretty and pretty cold, I checked the news.

50° before ten am? (would have been before nine without the whole forward thing) That right there put a little pep in my step. Add another cup of hot coffee and I was almost good to go.

Because I wouldn’t want you to think I was shirking my duties, I will tell you that after hitting the shower I got a load of towels washed and folded my yesterday’s procrastination. I seriously considered making breakfast, but the teen was still sleeping and if I’m not hungry, I have no problem fasting until hunger ensues naturally.

I passed the vacuum a second time on my way to the coffee pot. I thought about going ahead and getting that out of the way when I saw a cardinal sitting on the fence. The longing for the outdoors was overriding the importance of my to-do list.

I dug my Vibrams out of the shoe shelf (covered in jackets, coats, scarves, gloves, heck, it’s on the to-do list) and decided there was no time like now to run my errands.

When I walked outside I saw a very dirty sweet baby Cam. Since the area around the porch, where he usually gets cleaned is still partially encrusted in ice/snow, I grabbed some quarters and set to task.

Lucky for me, the train was coming through town. Cam and I got to take the scenic route, the route I used to take all the time, just so I could see the perdy blue Camaro, parked along the way. For old times sake I said “whooo hooo hooo Camaro” and laughed. It’s funny how a little promise of spring can make you giddy to the point of silly, but y’all know I’m totally down with silly.

Taking the scenic route makes my third stop my first stop and the car wash is right dab in the middle of what would have been the first stop had there been no train this morning. The car wash was also packed. Lots of folk needing to get that salty grime off their vehicles too. Instead of waiting for a stall and burning up my busy time, I passed it by and hit the grocery.

My list said sweet potatoes, so a couple sweet taters and a can of green beans (just in case) later, I went back to the car wash. As a reward for my not wasting time waiting, there was an empty stall. Eight quarters later I pulled out and headed home.

Being a pretty day and all, I only went inside long enough to put my gathers up and grab my chamois. In the full sun, he was still a dirty boy. I got to work and cleaned him again, then took my sweet time drying him off.

I’m pretty tall for a girl, but not tall enough to dry his top. I opened the door and saw to my horror that even if a car is covered and left wanting for weeks, it still can get dusty in there. (in Cam’s defense, I did drive him a couple times between the ice and snow storms, but on yucky cloudy cold days, he looked pretty clean)

An hour later and he is all shiny inside and out and though I’ve opened and slammed the front door several times throughout the morning, the teen is still asleep. There is still more me time to be had. An hour of sitting in the sun reading might seem like such a waste when there are now towels to fold and carpet to vacuum, but really, seriously, I can fold to my heart’s desire (or lack of) during TWD tonight.

As I typed that last paragraph, a shadow appeared in the living room, reminding me that the sun is still waiting and my lost hour is about over. There is noise coming from the kitchen, no doubt it’s the teen foraging for her very very late breakfast (which is too late to even be called lunch).

Too late for good morning, she calls out instead “Did you wash the car?” then proceeds to tell me that it’s supposed to snow again tonight, she saw it on Facebook funny, ha ha. What’s even funnier is that I saw the news and it may rain tonight, but the lows aren’t dipping below 40° and the highs are going to be reaching into the 60°s all week. Yep, no snow days this week, yeehaw!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Is it spring yet?

  1. This winter has been miserable. We had some flurries today as if winter was laughing at us and letting us know we aren’t free of his icy grip quite yet.

Feel free to comment

