School is closed again tomorrow, but tacos make life worth living…

I’ve lost count of the days, maybe this is day 10, day 8 they plowed our road, I stopped counting after that. The driveway is still a mess and really I don’t blame them for closing school.

In the past seems like forever that we’ve been encrusted in ice, crossing our fingers that the worst of winter is over, saddened that it’s actually too dangerous to even sled the ice cap that is our back yard (heck, it’s a perilous journey to just get to the tahoe), things have gotten pretty cabin fevery.

Seriously, there is only so much uno and monopoly to play. I ended up overdosing on the net, but in doing so, I managed to snag one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. Thanks to a friend who shared, I am never ever eating another taco salad instead of tacos again.

Oh, the thing that is the best thing? You’re not going to believe it, it’s a waffle recipe. (I’m not kidding. Check it out : http://theprimitivepalate.com/2015/02/23/broccoli-cheese-waffles/

Alterations to the recipe in the link:

I did not have Mrs. Dash. I used cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, pink salt, black pepper, and oregano. About 1/4 teaspoon of each. Instead of using a waffle iron, I flattened them out and baked them  A friend was testing out the recipe today and she baked them like tortillas, so I did too. (here’s her blog: https://atkinsjourney.wordpress.com/ )

Flatten on parchment, bake at 375° for 9 minutes, flip, 9 more minutes.

After baking and flipping.

After baking and flipping.

Once I had them all baked, they were kinda soft, kinda bread-like. I put some bacon juice on the griddle and browned them a bit like tortillas.

Filling:

  • 4 slices bacon, chopped, fried in skillet. Remove to paper towel, leave juice.
  • 1 pound chopped boneless, skinless chicken.
  • 1/4 teaspoon each of cumin, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, pink salt, and freshly ground coarse black pepper. (easy to remember, same mix/amount I used in the waffle/tortillas)
  • home-made salsa or pico.

Cook the chicken in the bacon juice. Add seasonings and cooked bacon. Cook a little longer till it’s done.

Put the filling on your waffles, I mean tortillas.

Put the filling on your waffles, I mean tortillas and squeeze on some fresh lime juice, YUMMIES!

The best thing about this is this:

Pick those bad boys up and eat you so tacos.

Pick those bad boys up and eat you some tacos.

Anyways, I seriously love love love the waffle recipe and am now following its creator. I don’t wanna sound like a stalker or nuthin’ but if the waffles are any indication of the yummie recipes, I’ll perdy much be kinda stalkin’.

 

8 thoughts on “School is closed again tomorrow, but tacos make life worth living…

  1. Pingback: 101 things to do with broccoli waffles, ceviche and chips | mydiabetesandme

  2. Pingback: Broccoli Cheese Waffles – My Attempt | My Atkins Journey

    • I love love love it!!! So much so that I couldn’t sleep for pondering if I could use a tortilla press next time and if I could even find a tortilla press in these parts. (also contemplating buying a new waffle iron just to try the recipe as written) Seriously love the recipe and am looking forward to checking out all your recipes.

Feel free to comment

