“Souper” easy Venison-esque Salisbury steak

The plan for dinner was to make Salisbury steak with roasted root vegetables and broccoli. I figured it was as good a time as any to break out some ground venison and give it a go.

I thought about the worst that could happen – taste too gamy, and decided a 50/50 mix of venison to beef would tip the scales in my favor as far as not having “too gamy” uttered mid meal.

I had gotten a late start on setting the meat out to thaw. Ended up taking a couple short cuts where normally, I would have made my own gravy, rather than using canned soup. As an advocate of “whole foods” I should be ashamed of myself for using a couple of processed cans of something, I guess. The saving grace though, is that the roasted root vegetables (parsnip, sweet potato, turnip, carrot, onion) were fresh and peeled, roasted with salt, pepper, and garlic. The broccoli/mushroom bake was fresh broccoli, cut up, tossed with butter, wiped and sliced mushrooms, and topped with a little parm, no shortcuts on the sides anyways…

  • 1 pound ground beef (73/27 is what I used)
  • 1 pound ground venison
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1 t onion powder
  • 1 T minced onion
  • 1 t seasoning salt
  • 1/2 t fresh cracked pepper
  • 3/4 c grated Parmesan cheese (the kind in the can)
  • 2 T Dale’s seasoning/marinade
  • 1 can french onion soup
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs, garlic powder, onion powder, minced onion, Parmesan, Dale’s seasoning, salt, and pepper. (mix well) Glove up and mix in the ground beef and ground venison. (a mixer is too harsh, a fork just doesn’t cut it, mix it like you’re kneading dough). Grease two 8″ x 11″ oven safe dishes (I used a couple of glass lasagna pans). Pat out about 1/4 pound patties, you should get 8-9 patties, and place in baking dishes.

Open the french onion soup and use a slotted spoon to spoon a bit on each patty, then divide liquid between both dishes like the following picture:

Patted out, ready for the oven

Patted out, ready for the oven

Cover both dishes with foil and bake for 1 hour. Remove foil and drain liquid into a sauce pan. Add the cream of mushroom soup to the pan drippings and mix well. It is at this point you can combine the patties staggered into one baking dish. Pour the “gravy” (soup/drippings mixture) over the patties and re-cover with foil. Bake 30 – 45 minutes more, covered.

venison/beef Salisbury steaks.

venison/beef Salisbury steaks.

Like I typed up there somewhere, I served it with roasted root vegetables and a what’s the worst that could happen baked broccoli/mushroom toss. It was a hit. Nobody knew it was venison, well, except for me, and only because I prepped it.

While this recipe is not “keto” it is lower carb than traditionally prepared Salisbury steak and gravy (no flour, no breadcrumbs). While I had no problem with my postprandial blood glucose readings, be sure and test yours prior to and one and two hours after consuming any new to you foods.

3 thoughts on ““Souper” easy Venison-esque Salisbury steak

  1. As you have progressed with your diabetes, do you find that some foods you do better with sugar-wise? That maybe you did poorly with before? What foods were shocking to you blood sugar wise–which raised your sugars that you wouldn’t expect? (BTW, I love Salisbury steak.)

    • Being told to replace potatoes with sweet potatoes back in the day, I was shocked that having them, with a meal, roasted in butter, cinnamon, no sugar added, would be like having a regular loaded baked potato. (I still ate the sweet potatoes though, because “I could”). I can eat them now, no problems. I do think though if they were on the every day rotation, there could be a potential for problems. Bananas shocked me. In addition to the T2, I had HBP, I was told to eat banana with my heart healthy whole grain cereal and skim milk. All of those things shocked me. *up until the not so distant past, bananas still don’t work with me, green bananas are ok bg wise, but I’m not a fan.

      I guess if I had to name the one thing that shocked me the very mostest, it would be bacon. Being told to cut out the fat, the fat is the problem, the first time I tested after an omelet with lots of bacon and cheese (oh the horrors), I didn’t get a spike. It wasn’t the bacon after all.

Feel free to comment

