Dang it, I still taste the coconut, let’s go with “Peanut butter chocolate chip macaroons” for the win please…

Every week, I make a batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies for May to take to lunch each week. They never really turn out like cookies, more like “cakies” or “muffin tops”, but anyone doing LCHF is already trying to steer clear of muffin tops, right?

Every week, she still doesn’t really like them, and I can still taste the coconut. You know me, I get something in my head and then fly by the seat of my pants with it. I’d wager this week is batch number 5, and I finally decided to use half splenda  and some stevia packets. (I have been gradually switching to stevia in my coffee. It’s getting less bitter as time goes on, so I thought about the worst that could happen, and ran with it.)

These are the cookies but not cookies..

These are the cookies but not cookies..

The worst didn’t happen, these turned out pleasantly sweet, with no after taste like with splenda alone in the cookies or stevia in my coffee, the merge worked out well.

Anyways, the high school band is having a bake sale during their Halloween concert and each member must bring some baked goods. I’m seriously considering Coconut Macaroons from my 1959 Better Homes And Gardens cookbook (wheat free back then).

I’m also seriously considering sending some of these. They are quite tasty, but they aren’t really a “cookie”, maybe a “biscuit” would be the closest thing, the ones without chips remind me of pancakes. Anyways, I figured I would give you the recipe for the 5th generation of these whatchamadigs.

  • 1 cup peanut butter (Natural is a better option because of no added sugar)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/8 c water
  • 1 t vanilla (imitation works as well as real in these)
  • 1/3 c slenda
  • 6 packets stevia
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 coconut flour
  • 1/2 c dark chocolate chips

In a large bowl whip eggs until well blended. Using a wire whisk, mix in vanilla and peanut butter. It will become thick. Thin it out a little with the water.

In a small bowl, combine coconut flour, baking powder, stevia, and splenda. Mix well. Whisk into peanut butter mixture, and finally, fold in chocolate chips. Use a 1/2 ounce scoop and place them about 1 1/2″ apart on a parchment lined cookie sheet. (Dark works better for browning the bottoms)

Bake for 15 minutes at 350°. Turn around pan and bake 2-4 more minutes. Let cool on the pan. Upon trying out test subject 497, (exaggerating) I bet I could get away with calling them “Peanut butter chocolate chip, mini-individual sponge cakes” (giggling)

Next week, generation 6, I’m thinking about leaving out the baking powder, seeing if maybe they don’t rise so much and maybe become more like a cookie. This evolution stuff is not that bad though, at least I get to eat each generation lol.

If you’re up for the challenge, give them a go, tweak them if need be (I’m seriously serious about trying them without the baking powder, they started with 1/2 c coconut flour, which was really overpowering in a coconutty kinda way. Anyways, I tried using less water, but they are so dry, crumbly even…

On that note, I’ll leave you with something that contributed to a fabulous last week!!!

This is Prancer, my friend Lori picked her up at the winery the other day. She's a Christmas tree decoration, but Cam totally snagged her!!

This is Prancer, my friend Lori picked her up at the winery the other day. She’s a Christmas tree decoration, but Cam totally snagged her!!

As always be sure and test prior to and one and two hours after consuming a new to you recipe. Knowledge is power.

There’s also this super big thing, but it’s not finished yet. Cliffhanger…

 

****UPDATE!!!**** With the bake sale being tonight, I decided to make a batch sans the baking powder. Yeah, fail, of epic proportions. They still rose a little, but are so dense, like brick muffin tops. I think next batch, I’ll just stick with this last version.

4 thoughts on “Dang it, I still taste the coconut, let’s go with “Peanut butter chocolate chip macaroons” for the win please…

  1. My kids and I were driving to the store yesterday morning and an orange camaro zipped past us. They absolutely loved the car and I immediately thought of you and your car. Thanks for the recipe, it sounds tasty and easy to make. I’ll have to try these out.

Feel free to comment

