Color me impressed, Kale chips, really :)

I almost feel guilty calling this a recipe. I kinda feel silly for being skerd of kale for such a long time, but I like silly and that’s ok with me.

On impulse last week at the grocery, May and I stumbled across these:

Good thing the empty bag was on top. I didn't think I'd like them, the pic was hindsight...

Good thing the empty bag was on top. I didn’t think I’d like them, the pic was hindsight…

The directions called for olive oil. I had bacon grease. After following the directions, and substituting the juices from the bacony breakfast, I came up with this:

The first batch, the second is in the oven.

The first batch, the second is in the oven.

Crispy? Yep. Tasty? I’m almost ashamed to admit it, but heck yeah! The teen is in refusal to try them mode, which is fine with me, ya know, more for me and all.

I’m thinking that next time I shouldn’t even need a kit, right? Take some kale, wash it, chop it, rub it around in a bowl of your favorite oil (olive, bacon, whatevs), seasonings like salt, pepper, cumin, Mountain Kitchen lemon pepper…. Spread on parchment, bake 10 minutes at 350°, turn pan around, bake 5 more minutes, get your snack on. Yep, that’s it. Any easier than that and you’ve got the pre-washed, pre-chopped, seasonings included kit 🙂

Feel free to comment

