Sweet Baby Cam, 5th Generation Camaro, a Review in Fabulousness…

Sweet Baby Cam

Sweet Baby Cam

One would think that after having this sweet baby for a couple and a half months that my obsession with the greatness that is a Camaro would subside, but no. I still “Whooohooohooo” when I see one drive past, I pass by one, or get Big Sexy to turn him around at night just so I can see his sweet taillights. (Yes, I called him a “him”, for he is)

Name: Camaro Johnson aka “Cam” aka “Sweet Baby Cam”

  • 2014 Camaro 2LS Coupe
  • engine: 3.6L, SIDI V6
  • Transmission: 6 SPD Automatic with TAP shift
  • Stabilitrak-stability control, including traction control
  • Anti-lock breaks, 4 wheel disc
  • Airbags, driver and front passenger, front/side impact, side head curtain
  • Rear child seat latch anchors (because adults are too big for the back seat lol)
  • Battery rundown protection
  • Theft deterrent system
  • 18″ painted aluminum wheels
  • Remote keyless entry, power windows, driver and passenger express up/down
  • AM/FM stereo, CD player* with steering wheel mounted audio controls
  • 2 auxiliary power outlets, and an auxiliary jack for my Pandora on my phone
  • Six months of On Star and three months of SiriusXM
  • Did I mention he has his own phone number? Satellite phone comes in handy when I forget my celly…

*The CD player is of utmost importance to me, there is nothing better than being able to hear ALL the Maroon 5 songs or all the Justin Timberlake songs in a row or shuffled during a road trip. LT and up do not have a CD player, they have the fancy smancy touch screen stereo. While I think touch screens are great (we’ve got one in the Tahoe) I don’t really like them in a vehicle.

There are not enough good words in the English language to explain my feelings for Cam, so I’ll just stick to the review. Being a girly girl, the only thing I can really tell you about the engine is that he is fast.

After the first 43 washes, I popped the hood and wiped down his guts. No water spraying allowed under there...

After the first 43 washes, I popped the hood and wiped down his guts. No water spraying allowed under there…

Really fast. So fast in fact, that the makers of the fabulousness that is Cam, felt the need to put one of these in:

This comes in handy on the interstate, especially since 95 feels like 70 and 70 feels like 55...

This comes in handy on the interstate, especially since 95 feels like 70 and 70 feels like 55…

Ok, I only did 95 that one time, didn’t even realize it. 99% of the time I let folks pass me, key word “let”, don’t believe me, lemme show you…

Seriously. Most days Cam only takes and picks up May from school. 1/2 mile to the 20 mph school zone, 1 mile in the zone, and 1/2 mile back home. (he's only been on the interstate about 5 times)

Seriously. Most days Cam only takes and picks up May from school. 1/2 mile to the 20 mph school zone, 1 mile in the zone, and 1/2 mile back home. (he’s only been on the interstate about 5 times)

Since getting Cam, I sometimes wish I had played more video games, so that I could stick him in M (manual) and Tap shift.

"M" is for Manual and well, I've only tried that once. Keep trying to push the clutch, but there isn't one...

“M” is for Manual and well, I’ve only tried that once. Keep trying to push the clutch, but there isn’t one…

2014-10-17 13.20.51

The little plus is for gearing up, there is a minus for gearing down while in manual mode, using tap shift. One day in an empty parking lot, I will practice and then be all like MIB lol

Sweet baby Cam is both roomy and comfortable, well, when you are driving or sitting in the front passenger seat. The driver’s seat not only can go forward and backward as needed for legroom, but also up and down so that I can see over the hood.

Disregard my crappy "I need some today , the kind that will fall apart if the in seat air bags are needed" seat covers lol

Disregard my crappy “I need some today , the kind that will fall apart if the in seat air bags are needed” seat covers lol . The little knobber is for legroom. The big knobber makes me taller 🙂

Leg-room leads me to think of a funny… May wanted me to bring her friends home from school, shortly after getting Cam. I did. They loved riding, but getting out of the back seat was akin to being “birthed”. Needless to say, when she wants me to give her friends a ride, I get a text that says “Mom, can you drive the Tahoe today?”.

Plenty of up front leg room. I actually enjoy riding as much as driving.

Plenty of up front leg room. I actually enjoy riding as much as driving.

The back seats.

The back seats.

Me in the back seat taking pics of grandbaby ready leg-room.

Me in the back seat taking pics of grandbaby ready leg-room.

a view of the dash

a view of the dash

The console box has an auxiliary jack and an auxiliary power outlet. (and sunglasses...)

The console box has an auxiliary jack and an auxiliary power outlet. (and sunglasses…)

Nice roomy glove box.

Nice roomy glove box.

Nice roomy trunk, plenty of room for a couple crossbows!

Nice roomy trunk, plenty of room for a couple crossbows!

Showing his butt

Showing his butt

I guess since this is a review and all I should tell you that the 2014 Camaro got 5 stars for Overall Vehicle, 5 stars for Frontal Crash, Driver and Passenger, 5 stars for side crash, driver and passenger, and 5 stars for rollover, Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) http://www.safercar.gov or 1-888-327-4236.

Sweet baby Cam is “Red Rock Metallic”. Payne Chevrolet in Springfield, TN totally rocks as far as going out of their way to get us this bad boy. The only Red Rock Metallic they had was totally manual, and well, it’s been years… They went to Alabama to a fellow dealership and got us what we wanted, automatic transmission. If you are on the market for a Camaro, or really any Chevrolet, and are within driving distance to Payne Chevrolet, talk to Billy Armour, he’s pretty awesome!

The nifty audio and hands free calling controls.

The nifty audio and hands free calling controls.

Had to have another buck for Cam :)

Had to have another buck for Cam 🙂

even the tail pipes are perdy!

even the tail pipes are perdy!

Pure bonus right there! I can also check thingies, lock and unlock him from my phone. Yep, I love him very much.

Pure bonus right there! I can also check thingies, lock and unlock him from my phone. Yep, I love him very much.

After the review, review…

The 5th generation Camaro is most definitely a head turner. To my Hot Husbands ire, there have been a lot of whoops and hollars while cruising around. Complete strangers often walk up to us in parking lots, saying things like “Pretty red car you got there young lady” (Yes, a Camaro makes one younger, no one has called me an old memaw lately lol). While washing, I’ve had complete strangers stop, wave, offer their assistance, ask if I’ve waxed him yet, offer to wax him, it’s endless. He shakes his head and says “you think it’s funny, don’t you?” I just smile and say “yeah, pretty funny”.

For a long time, Big Sexy thought I was the only Camaro obsessed “whooper and hollarer”, but no, boys, girls, men, women, wave at me like they know me, tell me things like “I love your car”.

I swear he thought I was making it up until one day he took Cam for a cruise up to the store and this guy in a Lexus started asking him how he likes it and telling him that he’s been thinking of getting one. Funny thing though, Big Sexy is a Truck Man, he always tells them “It’s my wife’s car, she loves it”.

 

Feel free to comment

