Winter IS coming, a recipe…

While I really couldn’t see it or feel it last weekend in the deer blind, the cooler mornings and chilly evenings these past few days let me know that winter is surely on its way. Gone will be the warm evenings on the deck with a glass of chilled “Big Sexy’s finest*”, coming are the evenings sitting by the roaring fire on the deck, relaxing with a hot beverage, spiky or not.

Yeah, he's a keeper, he makes me wine, I add fresh fruit (strawberries and lemons are nice) for sangria.

*Yeah, he’s a keeper, he makes me wine, I add fresh fruit (strawberries and lemons are nice) for sangria.

As far as warm spiky beverages, my go-to is usually sugar free apple cider with a little green apple vodka for a nice warmer upper, but I had really been missing coffee liqueur. Googling coffee liqueur, I found that one ounce has a whopping 16 grams of carbohydrates, and well, 16g is a big chunk when you are LCHF, even in maintenance at 50g daily.

I set to task looking for a DIY recipe, something that would be lower in the sugar, but the recipes I found called for at least two cups of sugar per quart of finished product and well, that still makes for 400g/quart, 12.5g/1oz serving, still too much for me.

In my search for the perfect recipe (for me) for coffee liqueur, I found that you can use just about any spirit for the recipe, rum, vodka, brandy… Since I’m not real hip to sugary substances anymore, I figured I could cut the sugar back and still end up with something palatable. After a quick raid of the liquor cabinet, I had my ingredients readied.

Not sugar free, but a lot less sugar than normal Coffee Liqueur

  • 2 cups water, divided
  • 3/4 cup ground coffee (I like Kona, use what you like though)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups brandy (or vodka, clear rum, what evs)
  • 1 vanilla bean or 1 tablespoon real vanilla extract

How I did it:

Place 3/4 cups ground coffee into a mason jar, add 1 cup of water. Put a top on it and pop it in the fridge for 24 hours. Shake it up every now and then.

After your coffee has been “cold brewed”, place 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of water into a small sauce pan. Bring to a boil, simmer for about 5 minutes (while stirring often, you don’t want to scorch it, just making a simple syrup).

Allow your “syrup” to cool completely. This is important because hot syrup + cold coffee + room temperature liquor = condensation that makes the whole batch just yucky and it’s just not good sanitary food/beverage handling type stuff…

Once your syrup is cooled, pour it into a clean, sanitized quart mason jar. Add your syrup, 2 cups of brandy, and your split vanilla bean or 1 T real vanilla extract. Pop a top on it and store it in a dark cabinet for two weeks until it is ready for use.

Using 3/4 cups of brown sugar versus 2 cups of white sugar makes for 160g carbs per quart, or 5g carbs per ounce. (much better than 16 in my opinion)

Once the two weeks was up, I made a “frozen white Russian” (ice, 1oz coffee liqueur, 2 oz left over coffee, 2 oz heavy whipping cream, blended) It reminded me of those Arby’s Jamocha shakes I was once so fond of, only not so sweet.

I’ve noticed that the flavor only improves with age, it’s been 5 weeks since I made this batch and it’s better than it was at 2 weeks. This weekend will be week 6, cold, and I’m thinking the stars may be in line for a nice “hot toddy” while warming in front of the fire on the deck after a full day of hunting.

Coffee liqueur

Coffee liqueur

As always, be sure and test prior to and one and two hours after consuming any “new to you” recipes. Don’t drink and drive, heck don’t text and drive either.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Winter IS coming, a recipe…

    • Oh golly, it’s good!!! It was one of those things that I didn’t expect could get any better, so I was pleasantly surprised at the 10 week mark. Even though the quart jar is closer to being full than not, I’m going to start another batch. (You know, just to be sure and have this old cold winter that coming covered) 🙂

  1. Pingback: Spike-y Mocha Latte, maybe… | mydiabetesandme

    • Thank you 🙂 In one of the “articles/recipes” I had read while researching, the person bottled into pretty bottles with bows for gifts. I think there’s time to start another batch 🙂

Feel free to comment

