Game on! Halloween style…

When I saw the “Elf on a Shelf” floating around Facebook this morning, it was on. There ain’t no way that skinny little kid is gonna just swipe in and take my Halloween JOY! I kinda think Big Sexy felt something was a’brewin’ when he went out side and started up the chain saw. Me? I gave Cam a much needed bath.

I was wiping down his wheels when His Hotness hollared for me to come see. I saw and was all silly girl “Whoooohooooo I love it!” (Seriously, you would think he’d bought me a sister for Cam, an older sister, green please? a girl can dream, right?)

He built me a cauldron. If I didn't already love him, that would have sealed the deal :)

He built me a cauldron holder. If I didn’t already love him, that would have sealed the deal 🙂

It didn’t stop with the thing-a-magig to hold the cauldron, see, my cauldron needed a handle, so he put one on. To show my appreciation, I proceeded to tote ALL of last years boxes of decor down from the attic…

“What are you doing?” he asked. “Plotting” I replied as I hurried out the door.

Like my beautiful grandbabies, if I'm quiet for a long time, I'm usually up to something...

Like my beautiful grandbabies, if I’m quiet for a long time, I’m usually up to something…

Would you believe that when he came back outside, he brought a load of firewood for the cauldron? Seriously, I kid you not, flat out busted me constructing that witch… A couple hours later I ended up with this…

After it got dark, I put a mini strobe light on top of the woodpile. It's like Halloween in September! (ha ha, get it?)

After it got dark, I put a mini strobe light on top of the woodpile. It’s like Halloween in September! (ha ha, get it?)

I still had quite a bit of daylight left, so I pulled out the old lighted broom I got at Goodwill last year. The lights still didn’t work, but lucky for me, I got another set of lights at Goodwill last week and ended up with this:

It took about an hour to cut off the old lights and zip tie the working lights, but the ole ride is ready!

It took about an hour to cut off the old lights and zip tie the working lights, but the ole ride is ready!

By the time Big Sexy got back with the mixer (yeah, a mason’s work is never done, not even on a Sunday during football season) I had just finished stringing the lights on the porch,,,,,,,,backwards. I went and fed the birds and by the time I got back to the porch he had re-strung them. (Now you see one of the many reasons I love him lol)

He told me that maybe I should finish decorating tomorrow, it was getting dark by then. I put the tops back on the boxes started fixing dinner. Surely tonight I will have visions of heads on spikes dancing in my head (giggles)

Anyways, thanks for taking a break from talking diabetes, drama, food, whatevs, and indulging my silly girl Halloween loving side again this fine season!

 

2 thoughts on “Game on! Halloween style…

    • Thanks 🙂 I’m lucky that he is a good guy. It rained quite a bit yesterday, but i still got a few things set up. The best thing was when May got home from band practice and started taking pics. I was “OMG she’s snap-chatting it, that means she likes it” (because being a teen and all, she’s not just gonna come out and say “good job mom” lol) Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

