No questions asked, I’ll take it as his blessing…

Halloween is so close, I can smell it in the air. Whiffs of smoke and candy on the breeze, well, maybe the candy is my imagination, the smoke though is hickory. It’s cool enough for chili this evening, so as it bubbles away on the stove we find ourselves stuck between watching another football game or boredom.

What’s that noise coming from the garage, the nosy part of me wonders, as I open the door and feel the presence of Halloween getting closer. “I made your spikes” the hot dude I’m married to says as surely my face has broken out in the cheesiest of smiles.

Playing it cool, I let him sit them down on the porch as he goes to check the fire. Time passes, surely hours, not minutes as the clock would have me believe. I’ve stirred the chili, played a game of Mahjong Titans when the thought of posts and spikes and zip ties zings through my head. I head outside when from up above his hotness says “What are you looking for?” from the roof of the garage. “Just seeing where you moved the zip ties to”. (no questions asked, he’s already made the spikes, why bother him with details lol)

He gives me a fresh pack, the black ones, they’re more Halloween than the white ones anyways. I thank him and we talk a moment about how he’s turned the heat back on in the hot tub, tonight will be a good night for a dip, and the fate of our bell pepper plant. (It’s massive)

I'm 5'6", so the bell pepper plant has to be close to 4'6". It's still blooming, so we're gonna let it be for now.

I’m 5’6″, so the bell pepper plant has to be close to 4’6″. It’s still blooming, so we’re gonna let it be for now.

Not a word about Halloween I’m thinking, as I scoop the spikes up off the porch. “What are you doing?” he asked. “Oh, I was just gonna test out one of these spikes.” I say, yeah, busted. Fortunately for me he says he guesses he’ll watch some more football.

The spikes are in the posts. It's only a matter of time before Cersi, Joffery, and the rest make their re-appearance.

The spikes are in the posts. It’s only a matter of time before Cersi, Joffery, and the rest make their re-appearance.

Before I knew it, I had a spike installed in each post. Six spikes instead of one. Looks like they are going to work out just dandy. Since the spikes have been out, there have been several cars slowing. I am not sure how many of them are wondering “why in the heck are those sticks sticking out of their hedges” or how many remember Halloween past and are wondering when in the heck am I going to get on with the show.

Halloween past. Halloween present, coming soon.

Halloween past. Halloween present, coming soon.

I guess right now, I’m just waiting for the right moment. I’ve tested the recycled decor purchased from Goodwill and everything works dandy. Last year’s decor is ready and waiting. The right moment is so close, I can feel it, but not today. Just the spikes for now and the windchime. Surely they will leave me un-supervised in the near future….

Last week's Sunday surprise looks great at night!

Last week’s Sunday surprise looks great at night!

 

 

2 thoughts on “No questions asked, I’ll take it as his blessing…

Feel free to comment

