It’s turning Halloween…

I’ve been saying that ever since July. En route to Chattanooga, stopping for breakfast/brunch/whatevs and Cracker Barrel already had Halloween spooky ookies for sale. The answer was “no, it’s too early”, what was the question again?

Oh, yeah, the question… “Can I decorate yet?” I will admit that yes, July was just a tad early for decorating, but I’ve been wearing my Halloween tees occasionally since last Thanksgiving anyways. Pose the question again in August and yeah, he’s right, still too early.

So what in the heck have I been doing since we last talked on August 15? Absolutely nothing. Kidding. Plotting, planning, thinking (ouch), got a new crossbow…

It's a Barnett Jackal 150, and yeah, I let May shoot it.

It’s a Barnett Jackal 150, and yeah, I let May shoot it.

The new Barnett is seriously sweet, but, it’s not the beloved Horton Explorer HD150 that I was used to. It’s a little longer, so even with shortening the string on the “cocker”, I’m in double big trouble. Big Sexy has to cock it for me, which is fine if we’re on the deck shooting at the big guy

SC20140812-172315

Our green-thumbed neighbor thought of us when he saw this boy at a yard sale for five bucks (giggles)

Not so fine out in the woods with moving targets. Anyways, it never fails, leave it up to THE BEST HUSBAND FREAKING EVER… to locate me a new string for the Horton. But I digress, it’s turning Halloween and really the bulk of my time has been spent washing Cam. (insert serious laughter)

If you recall, last year, I got lots and lots of goodies, spooky ookies, creepy crawlies, flashy lights. It’s all boxed up and secured with duct tape in the attic. It takes every bit of will power to stop me from toting it downstairs and just throwing it all over the yard. Did I mention I absolutely love Halloween?

My clingy blood splatters of Halloween past will no doubt not be very clingy this year, so I set to pondering over “what about the windows?”. For a minute, I thought tempera paint, yeah, that’s the ticket, but can you see it in the dark?

Planning is the hard part. Once I got the whole tempera out of my system, I started thinking silhouettes, yeah, that’s it. Paint them black, stick them to the windows, turn on the lights, let them cast some shadows…

They look really cool on the freezer. One day when nobody is paying attention, they will be adhered to the windows... muhahahahaha

They look really cool on the freezer. One day when nobody is paying attention, they will be adhered to the windows… muhahahahaha

So, I went a little crazy with six shoe boxes, why stop with a pumpkin patch and cemetery?

So, I went a little crazy with six shoe boxes, why stop with a pumpkin patch and cemetery?

Thinking maybe I have enough silhouettes now.

Thinking maybe I have enough silhouettes now.

I’ve spent the past couple weeks drawing, cutting, painting with a couple black sharpies. (in between my normal girly girl goofing off type things like cleaning house, washing clothes, picking up brats from band practice, going to football games, scouting the woods, building a deer stand…) (did you catch that? to be continued…)

Just when I thought it would never be the right time to start putting up the Halloween decor, Sir Hotsalot comes home from Lowes with a “Surprise, it’s Sunday” treat. (What’s in the box??!!??)

Don't look in the box Mills!!

Don’t look in the box Mills!!

It lights up B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L-L-Y at night, for a couple minutes anyways, until I put it back in the box. Yep, he loves me (super giggles).

On the way to pick up the less bratty than usual teenager after the Exhibition last night, I noticed a house on the way with a couple “Halloweenish” signs in their garden. Yep, it’s turning Halloween, and every day is a day closer to the day that is not too early for decorating. We’re expecting rain for the next couple days, so I’ll be patient and at least wait until Saturday to waltz up to HotStuff and say “Can I decorate now?”

 

5 thoughts on “It’s turning Halloween…

  1. Should have known you’d “be back” around “Halloween time.” Well, if decorating early brought you back, then I’m all for your decorating early! Missed you! Hope you’ve been well! Loved the deer your neighbor bought you!

    • That deer has taken so many bolts that we’ve had to bind him up with duct tape lol, but yeah, it is so cool to not shoot a hay bale!! We’re finally getting into the swing of school back in, marching band for May, so I’ll be around more often. Things are great, working on something big. Will try to get something about it for tomorrow. (headed out the door to work on it now, :excited: )

Feel free to comment

