Versatile Blogger Nominations

Yesterday, while going through my reader, I read atΒ http://fatgirllivinglowcarb.com/ about the Versatile Blogger Nominations. She listed mydiabetesandme as one of her thirteen favorite blogs. I was truly honored as there are so many awesome blogs here at wordpress. Thank you for reading, and sharing my blog.

I follow 104 blogs on various subjects ranging from diabetes to photography and lots of stuff in between. Getting a glimpse into other people’s journeys in weight loss, health improvements, and recipes from other parts of the world, for me is better than 90% of what’s on tv. I have had the opportunity of living vicariously through some of these blogs, they give me the opportunity to see places far away, and even learn some really neat things that I might not learn otherwise. Every day I am inspired to try new things whether it’s making a new recipe, a new exercise technique, or way to feel better physically or mentally.

We have to list 7 random facts about ourself and nominate 13 of our favorite blogs to read. It’s hard to whittle the 104 that I follow down to 13, some of the blogs haven’t posted in a long time, so that will make it a little easier, but honestly all of them are my favorites and I hope the ones on hiatus start posting again soon.

7 Random things about Me, Shannon πŸ™‚

1. I am a happily married mother of 3, and memaw to the 3 most beautiful girls in the world. (yes, my opinion is biased, I will not disagree if you also have the most beautiful grandchildren, us memaws are cool like that)

2. I don’t watch much television. Yes, I watch Teen Wolf, Game of Thrones, Dracula, DaVinci’s Demons, and The Walking Dead, but that’s it. (currently only Teen Wolf and The Walking Dead are in season, so I am only getting two hours of tv time a week)

3. I love to read. For me there is nothing like a nice book to “take me away”. Because of my love for reading, I often refuse to see movies based on books that I have read, like “Twilight”, but because of Jonathan Rhys Meyers I ended up watching “The Mortal Instruments” πŸ™‚

4. I am a formerly morbidly obese Type 2 Diabetic, who through hard work and dedication became closer to normal, but I’m still Type 2 Diabetic.

5. I have a crossbow and a long bow that I like to take outside and shoot at hay bales for practice, in hopes of becoming a huntress of turkey and deer this year.

6. I am obsessed with Camaros, but picky in my obsession, ’67-’69, ’10-’14, nothing in between. If you happen to be driving in your camaro and hear someone say “I love you camaro”, you probably passed me, I’m just silly like that. Don’t worry, I’m not a “Klepto”, I don’t want to take them, but sometimes if they’re really sweet and shiny I take their pictures.

7. I like to dance. Mostly in my kitchen while I’m cooking. I would have never believed this a few years ago when the closest thing to dancing (for me) was playing a mean air guitar.

13 Favorite blogs in no particular order:

  1. Β http://thehomeschoolingdoctor.com/Β 
  2. http://themountainkitchen.wordpress.com/
  3. http://ronscubadiver.wordpress.com/
  4. http://cookingwithmrfitz.com/
  5. http://salixisme.wordpress.com/
  6. http://profgrant.com/
  7. http://thesustainablehome.wordpress.com/
  8. http://fatgirllivinglowcarb.com/
  9. http://fifteenwaitfifteen.com/
  10. http://runningwithoutsugar.wordpress.com/
  11. http://fittyvsfatty.wordpress.com/
  12. http://drmalcolmkendrick.org/
  13. http://homemadewithmess.wordpress.com/

I have many more favorite blogs, many of the ones I didn’t list haven’t posted in a long time, and I miss reading from them.

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Nominations

  1. Hi Shannon, I feel the same way about my 3 boys. The best in the world they are! For some reason, this entry didn’t show up in my reader. I’m also a walking dead fan and I’m dying to find out if they reach Terminus tonight. πŸ™‚

    • I’m looking forward to tonight with mixed emotions, on one hand I can’t wait to see it, but on the other hand, only 2 episodes left… I’m going to be an emotional wreck!!

      Enjoy them every chance you get, they grow up so fast. One of these days I hope that they in turn bless you with the best in the world grandchildren, and well, they grow up fast too!!!

      • I was stunned last week. I didn’t see that coming. That lingered into last Monday. I know it sounds silly but it impacted my day last week.
        Yes, they are growing up fast. It seems like yesterday we were watching Finding Nemo, and now they’re going to their class dances. Time flies, doesn’t it?

        • Not silly at all. Between that TWD episode and last weeks Teen Wolf, I was pretty emotional for a few days myself.

          It does. If only we had a pause or slow motion button!

  2. Thank you for the nomination! You know I love reading your blog, insights, and recipes. And although not working, when I do, I’ll have lots of tricks from you to help others. Mostly, although I am motivated, it helps to read your encouraging posts (even if they’re sarcastic ones) to keep me motivated to stay the course for myself and my own issues. Thank you. See you next post!

    • I think the thing I like most about your blog is that you totally knock conventional wisdom on it’s head.

      Every doc I’ve ever had just repeated the same ole thing, and then would just deem us patients as “non-compliant” when the same ole thing wasn’t working.

      It takes guts to think/do out of the box, to try new things to fix what ails you, and see that one size does not fit all. Your butyrate series had me yearning for more info, and while I don’t always understand the “extra reading” (links, some big words lol) you take the time to explain things, to write posts that even us ordinary folks can understand. Other docs could learn a thing or two from you.

  3. Woot, I made the list! Thanks, girl πŸ™‚ BTW, we watch Game of Thrones and Walking Dead, and are anxiously awaiting the Game of Thrones premeire! We are behind almost a whole season of Walking Dead (we can only watch when the kid is in bed, of course) but we’ll get there! As for books, have you read the Divergent series? It’s supposed to be the next big thing, even bigger than Twilight πŸ™‚

    • You taught me about the fifteen wait fifteen. Being diagnosed in 2007, I know I should have learned it a long time ago, but I didn’t even learn about the proper testing times until the NP at my Doc took the time to talk to me as a patient instead of talking “at” me as a statistic. You’ve also shown a whole ‘nother side to diabetes that I was clueless about, and through you, I’ve had the opportunity to read about even more bloggers who like me are on a journey, but from a different perspective. We are each so different, so unique as individuals, that I never want to stop learning. Thank you for opening my eyes.

      I’ve not read Divergent, I’ve seen previews for the movie, but I’m just more partial to books πŸ™‚ I’m going to have to find a copy and get that series started. As for TWD, I promise, no spoilers from me, only brace yourself for a wild ride when you get to see this season!

    • Every single time I think about your “sexy pork chops”, I get that JT song in my head “I’m bringing sexy back, them tastebuds just don’t have a chance”. (I know those aren’t the exact lyrics, but that’s how it sounds when you mix it with sexy pork chops!!)

  4. Ah, see, I’ve always been a “private dancer” but I think I’m less dangerous to those I love (not to mention less likely to hurt myself) now. I have, in the past, actually hurt my neck by headbanging too much and too hard! LOL! Thank you for mentioning my ‘stream of consciousness’ blog. I never told you, we have a compound bow. It wouldn’t do either of us any good right now (would make a good bat) because I still can’t pull it. That’s one of my goals: get strong enough to use the bow! πŸ™‚

    • Ah ha! You’ve discovered why I went with a crossbow and pull cord! Michael has had the long bow for over a decade. I never wanted to practice with it because the rare occasion I was able to pull it back even slightly, I would bruise my arm.

      May and I ended up pulling it out of the attic while Michael was recovering from H1N1 and seasonal flu, and kept trying until we were able to hit the hay bales at twenty yards (she’s better than me with the long bow, a natural). He had a couple of compound bows but they years in the garage made them unsafe to even think about using.

      After being a headbanger since my teens, one day I let May change the radio station, and it kinda pushed me out of my comfort zone. Don’t get me wrong, I still love listening to Avenged Sevenfold, Shinedown, and all the ’80s hair bands, but there’s just something about hearing Justin Timberlake, Bruno Mars, or Maroon 5, that makes me wanna move more than just my head!!

  5. Thanks for mentioning me here! You’re one of those who have conquered the weighing scale! Thank God I found your blog!

    By the way, are you serious with #5, the huntress thingy? As in do you really go out thr forest and hunt? Haha.. Don’t laugh, I’m really clueless! Lol

    • Yes, I’m very serious about #5. I have not actually hunted yet, though I have gave cause for a couple of chickens to move out of my line of fire.

      My husband and father in law are avid hunters. During deer season, they keep our freezer stocked with venison. Last year a friend of the family shared with us some wild turkey and it was the best turkey I’d ever eaten (the reason I want to try turkey hunting). I do have a rule, I am not interested in the “sport”, “rack”, or “beard”, I am interested in providing my family with a healthy alternative to store bought factory raised protein, so I’m not looking for a “trophy”, just some occasional dinners.

      My choice of the bow was because while my dad and a Hunter’s Safety Course taught me to shoot as a youngster, I’m not fond of guns. They are too loud for my liking, and tend to make me nervous.

      Until hunting season starts, I’m just going to keep practicing with hay bales and paper targets, going in the woods to just listen and get a feel for it. Getting up into a tree stand is kinda going against my fear of heights, but I’m going to keep pushing that fear until it lands on the back burner πŸ™‚

      • Wow, sounds so fun! Here in Singapore, there’s no forest that I can have that activity. In the Philippines, for sure we have, but I live in a city, so no chance for me. Nice to hear that you can have all these “priviledge” that we, living in a city, could never have.

        Wild turkey sounds so yummy!

        • We were nervous to try it at first because game meat can taste much different from farm raised. We were shocked that there was no wild or gamey taste to it at all. If I hadn’t known it was hunted rather than bought, I wouldn’t have guessed it.

          I agree, we lived in the city for a long time. The closest thing to hunting I’ve ever done is for a parking spot!

Feel free to comment

