Cabbage and cookies

013

Yummy yummy for their tummies~!

We had the pleasure of having our three granddaughters stay with us over the weekend, so busy started Thursday prior, with making cookies.

The first batch was kinda dry, so I made another batch. They are kinda cakey, so if you like crispy cookies, these are not the ones for you.

  • 1/4 c coconut flour
  • 3/4 c almond meal
  • 3/4 c splenda
  • 1/8 t xanthan gum (I don’t know if it helped to make them more cakey, next time I will omit it)
  • 1/4 t baking powder

In a small bowl, combine the above dry ingredients, set aside.

  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted
  • 4 medium eggs (These were from young hens, large eggs should be fine too)
  • 1/2 c coconut milk

In a medium to large bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Then whisk in the dry ingredients. Wait a few minutes to let the coconut flour soak up all the liquid.

  • Stir in 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips. (I do not use “sugar free” chocolate chips because I have a problem with maltitol. If you have no problem using “sugar free”, feel free to do so)

Use a cookie scoop to place them on a parchment paper lined pan. (Edit: Sorry, I forgot to tell you to mash them down with a fork like peanut butter cookies. Oops, my bad.)Bake in a 375° oven for 22 minutes. Check, and bake for 2 additional minutes if needed (my total cooking time was 24 minutes). I was able to get 30 cookies out of this batch. If like me, cookies (even these kind) make you want more cookies and you don’t have anyone to share them with, half the recipe. They keep well in the freezer. The grandbabies loved them.

As for the cabbage, I always use Mark Sisson’s recipe from MDA for sauerkraut, only I normally just use cabbage. This time, I used carrots also.

003

Good golly this is good stuff!!

Anyways, yesterday was about day 6 fermenting and good golly it was good. I had some with some corned beef, cabbage, nips, neeps, and creamed spinach.

st patty dinner

Sir hots a lot had chicken wings instead. Doesn’t know what he was missing.

As always, when trying any new to you recipes, test prior to, one and two hours after consuming to see how they effect your blood sugar.

8 thoughts on “Cabbage and cookies

    • I would have shared 🙂 Normally I put the brisket in the oven, but this time I put it in the crock pot over the parsnips, turnips, cabbage, and onions. I’m never going to cook it in the oven again. The cookies were gone by the time we took the girls home, so I’m in the clear, but will use the freezer tip next time, thanks for sharing. Have a great week 🙂

Feel free to comment

