What the netsperts are saying or what in the heck are you thinking?

A little over a year ago a friend of mine told me I should just write a blog. Not that she was growing tired of my moaning and groaning about this and that in regards to my type 2 diabetes or weight loss, but that when I posted things where I posted them, it was things we were all pretty much already aware of and really, I was “preaching to the choir”.

As an ole memaw, I’m not the best blogger, I had no idea what I would say, I told of my journey, some silly things I’ve done, and well, shared a few recipes. In my journey to becoming a blogger, I learned that if this ole memaw could have a blog, then really anyone could have a blog. (meaning you do not have to be an expert in any given field to voice your opinions via blogs)

I don’t claim to be an expert at anything, well, except my own body because I’ve had the past few years to figure out what works for me. If what works for me helps any one of you to find your own path, or even just think about maybe finding a path, well, my work here is done. That’s all I’ve set out to accomplish, to maybe motivate or inspire someone, anyone to forget about living to eat, and eat to live, meaning, eat what works with your own body in order to control your own blood glucose, lose weight, what have you.

These days, there are many cliques in the low carb/whole food/what have you world. It’s mainly a game of who ever talks loudest, most often, and strokes enough egos fare better than those who question tips and tricks. I’m not one for tips and tricks, well unless the tip is stay away from sugar, starches, and grains, because well, that tip worked for me, and could possibly work for you, but you’d have to really try it and see for yourself, I’m not a psychic, heck, I don’t even play one on the internet.

With all this information floating around, it’s pretty safe to say that anyone can be a “netspert”. I was joking, kinda, this morning when I updated my facebook status:

“Snarky people on the internet?” No way, no how, that’s just a “netspert” you’ve interacted with… lol

Anyways… before anyone gets their nickers in a twist, just remember that there is a lot of information on this information superhighway. Not all information is “the gospel”, some information is just silly and should be dismissed as such. Everything we read should be taken with a grain of salt as there is no guarantee that everything works exactly the same for everyone.

That being said, use common sense. Use google. Read everything you can before trying tips and tricks. If you are taking medications for your condition, keep in close contact with your doctor. In case you did not know, some medications can have side effects when stopped “cold turkey”. (Don’t believe me, google it, heck ask a pharmacist or doctor)

“close contact with my doc, what the heck are you thinking? My doc wouldn’t approve!” Which brings us to the number one way to get your doctor on board with your choice of a lifestyle change…

Progress. That’s it, plain and simple.

If you’ve been overweight, obese, or even morbidly obese for any length of time, well your doc has probably told you to lose weight. Maybe your doc has even given you his own tips and tricks for doing so. If they worked, great, if not, well, maybe you’ve discovered low carb /whole foods/Primal/Paleo/LCHF and you’ve lost a little weight that way. Maybe you think that your doc would still “not approve”, but how do you know until you talk to him/her.

It’s like this, more and more docs, dietitians, scientificy types are seeing more and more real folks that low carb is working for. While it may be a “fad” diet to the vegans and department of agriculture, mainstream medicine is catching on. Talk to your doc, walk your journey with your doc on your side and let him/her adjust your meds as needed. That’s what they are there for. If for any reason you are uncomfortable with your doctor, that’s ok, there are other doctors out there, you should never feel uncomfortable with someone who has your health in their hands, find a new one.

On that note, I’ve got sauerkraut to squish, jerky to dry, and sunshine to play in. Have fun folks!

 

 

17 thoughts on “What the netsperts are saying or what in the heck are you thinking?

  1. Google or Wikipedia is the generation’s new bestfriend nowadays. Some people have problems, they “type in” what’s the meaning of life and you’ll get a whopping number of results. People blog about anything but we should always treat valuable information found on the web as just a basis for further investigation. If I just found out I have Diabetes, I’d search the Internet for its meaning and stuff just for a backgrounder so when I talk to my doctor, I can validate those information. Blogs, especially about Diabetes, on the other hand are what I’m gonna read if I need to know how easy or hard it is to deal with or to find encouragement, which is why a blog like yours is the real thing. Nice post by the way. 😀 Sorry for the long comment.

    • Google, wikipedia, blogs, they are all great. I’m mostly just talking about random folks on the internet dishing out “pharmaceutical advice”.

      I enjoy reading blogs, being a fly on the wall of other people’s journeys. It helps to see that we are all different, yet we often have things in common. I would never ask a fellow blogger or some random person on the net “Hey, what do you think about me stopping my (insert a random med here)?” or “do you think I should stop my (med)?”.

      Maybe I wasn’t on the internet as much as I am now, but a couple years ago folks would tell people to ask their doc or pharmacist. Nowadays, it’s different, folks are quick to dish out pharmaceutical advice, and to me, it’s disturbing. This post was not meant to attack anyone and the netsperts I was referring to were some that I’ve never even interacted with.

      Thanks for reading, no problem on the long comment, I like encouragement, information, motivation, even things pertaining to whole foods vs hot pockets, but when faced with a question like “what do you think about my meds?” I like to tell them “You need to talk to your doctor, keep a journal of everything you put in your mouth, test often, and take your meter with you” because it’s just not my place to advise people on medications if that makes sense.

  2. People should absolutely find a doctor they can work with! So many people are afraid to get second-opinions or look around once in a spot! (And then you also have permanent doctor-shoppers!!!) There are so many good egg and bad egg doctors out there!

    Netspert! I hope I never get that label! 🙂

    • How are you doing?

      Well, never, ever. Netsperts are snarky, sometimes even rude. With a netxpert, there is never any room for debate. I know it’s hard to “read” tone on the internet, but with a “netspert” it’s the same each time, they sometimes attack folks on other subjects when disagreeing on another subject.

      I’ve read enough of your posts to see that you’re willing to see all sides of stuff and research it as far as possible to find answers. So nope, you don’t get that label.

      • Thanks for asking! I am doing well. Just got back from a nice vacation with friends and family!

        I didn’t think I qualified, thank goodness! Too much uncertainty in most things to be attacking anyone! And in this nutrition stuff, I just want people to take their health back!

        • I was wandering around the internet, when I came across a conversation in a group on a social media site. The topic was about diabetes, I’m not sure what type, but the responses were quite disturbing. Lots of different people, so lots of different responses, just random folks telling this person “well, you should stop taking this”, “take this supplement”, “have you tried this” each and every one of them “getting louder” than the previous, trying to be more “knowledgeable” than the rest, it was crazy , not one individual said “it’s a good idea to have your doctor in on this, some things are best left to them rather than random folks on the internet.” Is what sparked this post.

          Maybe I’m biased because I had Dr (NP) Christie on my side the whole time, and just can’t fathom having had some random person on the internet “adjust my meds as needed”. I wasn’t trying to attack anyone, just wanted to make folks think before just accepting anything as gospel if that makes sense?

          I do want folks to take their health back, I do believe that good ole whole foods is a great beginning, but when it comes to prescription medications, if they don’t want to discuss it with their own doctor, maybe they should find another doctor and discuss it with them. Bouncing around nutrition stuff is good, bouncing around medicinal advice, not so good.

  3. Thanks for posting this. I’ve been a bit distracted so just now got a chance to read this (and for those of you who don’t know the scale is LIAR … over the course of the past week and a half, I’ve gained 6 pounds then magically lost three last night). I’ve learned my lesson over the years, having to retract statements/posts because they proved to be false. That’s why I typically (unless I’m tired) don’t share anything until I research a bit. If I can’t find anyone else that corroborates what was initially stated, I try not to share. And I’m going to whine. My doctor … did I tell you he wanted me to have frozen yogurt (full sugar) for dessert? AND he has type 2 also! I really appreciate your posts. Now off to read the other one I’ve been hanging onto! lol

    • My doc will have a conversation with me now, rather than “talk at me”. I never thought he would come around (The NP was the one who helped me during the first part). It took a long time to get him on my side and he still gets tay mccraycray about statins… (one year had me sign a waiver lol)

  4. This is so true! Sometimes we need to question what we find in the internet. Social media information can be tricky. What worked for me may not work for other people. I’m not a chef or a doctor and what we have in our blogs are our are journey.

    • Access to all the info is great, I think people putting their journeys out there is also great.

      I think social media is great too, well except for the netsperts, they bother me. Normally they aren’t bloggers because they spend so much time on social media, they don’t have time to blog.

      • Indeed! By the way, it’s the first time that I’ve seen your full blog site on the desktop (I normally browse using my mobile) and I must say that you look so FABULOUS! I’m just starting my journey. Looking forward and you’ll be one of my mirrors!

        • Thanks 🙂 Make sure you keep track of your measurements because the scale is a fickle old hag, bouncing up and down and all around. Enjoy the ride 🙂

  5. Great post! I love your advice on finding the right doc. It’s a process. I wrote a blog post concerning online influence too as I found myself not using proper common sense as I was newly diagnosed and so vulnerable . Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    • Thank you for reading 🙂 It’s a big scary world out there when we find ourselves needing help with what ails us. Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish the facts from opinions and well, as we all know, one person’s fact doesn’t always hold true for the next. Keep fighting the good fight.

Feel free to comment

