Low carb stuffed bell peppers

As you may be able to tell from many of my posts, I’ve got the most fabulous granddaughters in the world. (yes my opinion is biased, so I won’t argue if you too have the most fabulous granddaughters) Diamond, the middle one loves to draw, give her a grocery list note pad and it will soon become personalized stationary.

IMG_20140307_085317

She is currently a princess, but on any given day she would like to be an “arter” (artist). She did this last year when she was 4. She leaves me a little room for my lists, but I like this one so much, I did not use it for a list.

I figured by now I would have already given you my recipe for stuffed bell peppers, but looking back, I have not, so here it is, easy, peasy.

Ingredients:

  • 3 large bell peppers
  • 1/4 head of cauliflower (I had a 1/4 head in the freezer that needed using, you can also use fresh, or about 8 oz of bagged frozen, thawed)
  • a couple ounces of chopped colorful peppers
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (I used Italian this time because I had some on hand, if you like spicy, use rotel or the diced tomatoes with green chilies)
  • 1 T oregano
  • 1t garlic powder
  • 1t minced onion (dehydrated)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Step 1: in a food processor, pulse cauliflower until it is similar to rice

IMG_20140310_142848

After “ricing” the cauliflower, place it in a bowl with seasonings, chopped colorful peppers, minced onion, mix well.

Step 2: rinse out the processor bowl and pulse the canned tomatoes until pureed. Add half of the pureed tomatoes to the cauliflower mixture.

Step 3: glove up and mix in 1 pound of ground beef.

Step 4: Slice in half vertically the bell peppers and place cut side up into an oven safe cooking dish.

Step 5: stuff the peppers.

IMG_20140310_153202

His hotness doesn’t like peppers, so I just fixed him a couple mounds of “stuffing”

Step 6: Place in a 350° oven. Cook for 45 minutes and then remove from oven.

IMG_20140310_155531

This is the little past halfway mark

Step 7: Spoon remaining tomato puree over the tops

IMG_20140310_155631

Now they are ready to go back in the oven

Step 8: place the peppers back in the oven for 20 more minutes. If you like your peppers on the softer side, cook for 30 more minutes instead.

IMG_20140310_173309

I like mine softer, so these cooked for about an hour and a half total time.

After all the yumming over the smells coming from the oven, May reminded me that dad doesn’t like them, and proceeded to tell me that she doesn’t like them either. I did what any other sane wife/mother would do and thanked my lucky stars, more for me, easy lunch for the week, right? And then proceeded to patty them up some hamburgers for the grill.

IMG_20140310_173259

The cauliflower looks a lot like rice, rice has no taste in peppers, nor does cauliflower. These are a perfect “introductory” food to the low carb naysayers.

 

3 thoughts on “Low carb stuffed bell peppers

Feel free to comment

