Meleo? Whats and whys?

It seems like ages ago that I went to the Doc to go over my then latest blood panel. My hbA1c had gone up again along with my cholesterol, my bp was still up despite the lisinopril. I still consider myself quite lucky that the NP (Dr. Christie I call her) went over it with me.

In case you’re a new reader, I was diagnosed T2D in 2007 and the “latest” blood panel I speak of was in April of 2011. Dr. Christie told me about Atkins, I was in denial, but finally came around on April 20, 2011 after picking up an old copy of Atkins, DANDR (Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution) reading it, and seeing that really, it didn’t sound like a diet.

Surfing down the information super highway, I stumbled upon Atkins on the web. I found out that “my” version of Atkins was out of date. I learned of net carbs and low carb products. I also learned over time that being diabetic meant that I could test often (prior to and one and two hours after consuming) to find out just what worked and what didn’t work for me.

My beginning goal was pretty easy, I had my blood glucose to focus on, so 6 pounds in the first two weeks was fabulous. Someone telling me about Dr. Richard K. Bernstein helped me to understand the whys and hows of testing, so I added his book Diabetes Solution to my reading list.

I got really lucky to dive into low carb at the time that I did. With all the unique individuals, I was able to find bits and pieces of advice to help me. The best bit of advice was “Take what you need and leave the rest”, really, that is the beginnings of “meleo”.

When I got to the “rung” in Atkins for “low carb products”, I tried them. They didn’t exactly work with my blood glucose meter. Lucky for me, some smart cookie (a low carber cookie lol) told me about Dr. William Davis’s Wheat Belly. I learned that I didn’t need the rungs, just my meter and that I could indeed live without processed “low carb” products.

I dabbled in “Primal” (which is an awesome way of eating btw), but I just didn’t fit in with the “primal” crowd. (I was an old morbidly obese memaw, duh!) Still, I took what I needed, the whole foods approach. 

I still had problems with high morning readings ie Dawn Phenomena. I tried all the tips and tricks, eat this before bed, wake up and have a snack, the tips and tricks are endless as the amount of what works for each unique individual varies, but it just didn’t work for me. Waking up and snacking didn’t work because it made my “fasting” blood sugar no longer “fasting”. Eating before bed didn’t work, it only made it a little higher.

Another lady at Atkins told me about Dr. Jack Kruse’s Leptin Rx. Sure enough when I laid down on my back, my belly was a big round mountain. Dr. Kruse’s Leptin Rx looked simple, and since I was already eating almost primal (I still used sugar substitutes, darned diabetes…) I used “what’s the worst that could happen?” and dove in again. 

I ate within an hour of rising, low carb, high fat (because any fat is high fat when you’ve been on the “low fat” train) and protein. While I was physically unable to consume the amount of breakfast he suggested, I was able to consume about 35g protein in a yummy omelet each morning, sating me until dinner time. 

I learned in the Leptin Rx that I had a bad case of “habit eating”. In turn, I learned that habits can be broken if we just stick to it, and well, a side effect of this Leptin Rx was the end to my problem with Dawn Phenomena. (I also learned that it was possible for me to get a good night’s sleep every night, but don’t take my word for it)

The thing is that doing something to improve your health is not easy. There is no such thing as a “miracle” drink for smashing fat cells. Juices, smoothies, and shakes work as long as you keep replacing a couple meals daily with them, but can one really live like that forever? Once “food” is brought back to the plate instead of liquid through a straw, the weight goes up again and you need another round of “miracle”. 

With real whole foods, one may not lose 30 pounds in 30 days, but one does learn to eat healthy nutrient dense foods and when the body gets the nutrients needed it’s a win/win because you’re learning what works for you. When you see that cutting out the bread and taters in favor of foods without labels and seals makes you shrink, it’s really not so hard to see yourself “JERF”ing for life. 

There are many starting points for low carb, Atkins, Primal, Paleo, Wheat Belly, Grain Brain, LCHF (Diet Doctor), and the list goes on. Find your starting point, if it works for you, keep working it. If you find that you need a little more help for finding your own “sweet spot”, read more ideas, plans, what have you. Make your choices based on what works for you, and like me, find your own plan, your own “meleo”.

turnip and carrot fries

Turnips and carrots aren’t as crispy as fried taters, but they taste pretty darned good.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Meleo? Whats and whys?

    • There were times when I thought I would be stuck at a crossroads forever, I am thankful for the folks who helped me out along the way. Still a work in progress in this never ending journey. Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

