How about a recipe? Corned beef hash

It had been a long time when I thought about even missing it. I never really had it often, but it was one of my favorite breakfasts.

The first time I made it, I used broccoli and it was good.

corned beef broccoli hash

Left over corned beef, diced and mixed with fresh broccoli hot off the griddle.

If I had to guess, that was a couple of years ago.

It seems that I’m so busy eating real whole foods, that I don’t so much miss any of the old stuff.

A while back I stopped buying the canned cbh for Hot Stuff and just bought the tinned corned beef and thawed some shredded potatoes. He’s not type 2 diabetic or morbidly obese for that matter, so I feed him taters some times. (Now don’t go thinking him spoiled, today was only maybe the 3rd time this year I’ve even made it for him…) One of those times was this morning.

Using “What’s the worst that could happen” and thinking about how much I enjoyed that broccoli hash, way back when, I chopped up some cauliflower, about 4 ounces. I tossed it with a couple ounces of tinned corned beef that I had mashed up. After that, I greased up the griddle with some bacon juice (350°).

008

Takes a little longer than regular, but nice, really nice.

Cook about five minutes and flip. Wait another five minutes and flip again. The cauliflower will brown, but not get crispy like potatoes, so I’m not going to say “it’s just like potatoes” because it’s not. It’s cauliflower, so it’s like cauliflower and cauliflower is good.

003

A little salt, a little pepper, some Louisiana hot sauce, yum.

 

8 thoughts on “How about a recipe? Corned beef hash

  1. This looks good. I haven’t bought corned beef before, but I think maybe my mom used to make me corned beef gravy? Or that could have been chipped beef gravy? Anyhow, I will check out corned beef hash! Thank you for the recipe. And you blog header is cool!

    • I remember an old episode of Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, they called it SOS, chipped beef in gravy over toast points, was that it maybe? (In our home we just called it “can I have some more?” lol)

      The tinned kind kinda looks like spam, but mushy, so I put it in the fridge so I can slice it, peculiar huh? (to slice it prior to mashing lol) The corned beef briskets usually go on sale this time of year. (they are doused in nitrates, so if you steer clear of them, maybe opt for just a cut of brisket and a nitrate free recipe like this one: http://wellnessmama.com/4420/corned-beef-brisket-recipe-nitrate-free/ (haven’t tried it, but it looks nice)

      Thanks! One of the mods in a facebook group asked for peeps to post before and after pics. Because I’m a work in progress and I didn’t go from “start to finish” in one fell swoop, I pasted all those together. I think sometimes folks just get the wrong idea about befores and afters, that it’s easy, takes no effort and peeps just go to sleep “before” and wake up “after”, when really, it’s hard, it takes time and patience.

      • Very, very true about before and afters! Are we ever really “after?” I don’t know. 🙂

        Yep. I think that’s what mom would make me. She cooked in a little small town diner as a teenager. Thanks for the tip on corned beef and link!

  2. I love hash, but I’ve got to say it has always been with ‘tatties’ (Scottish for potatoes). However I can see how this could work even for me. When I make a hash it is usually with leftover meat or chicken and has chopped up onions sauted in butter and of course smoothly mashed potato using lots of butter! I will try it this way though. Thank you.

Feel free to comment

