The nori still doesn’t care and OMG this BLT was freaking awesome!!

“I see you in there” he said from the den.

He is my hot husband, and since it musta been my lucky day, he was home and starting to eat his lunch, a BLT. I was in the kitchen, dancing around, creating the best bites ever when I accidentally said out loud, louder even that I would have intended had I intended on saying it aloud.

“This is gonna be so good” probably with a goofy look upon my face and a fist pump or “yeeeeaaah” thrown in for good measures. (I’m a little silly sometimes, that’s just how I roll)

“See me what? Dancing? You’re not going to believe how freaking awesome this is gonna be.” I said in my defense of what ever he saw (LOL).

“What are you doing?” he asked.

“They had kimchi at the store today, I’m making me a blt with kimchi instead of lettuce, and nori instead of bread. Oh, you’re gonna have to try it.” I rambled on as I spread a bit of mayo upon my nori and started rolling.

IMG_20140127_125550

BLT? Nah, this is better than a blt… πŸ™‚

My BLT

  • 1 sheet nori
  • 4 thin slices Roma tomato (If it weren’t the dead of winter, I would have chosen homegrown tomatoes use what ever you like)
  • 1/4 cup kimchi (more or less as you desire)
  • 2 slices cooked thick cut bacon (I like mine soft, you can fry yours crispy if you want)
  • 1t mayo

Place your nori on your mat. Make a line of kimchi across the lower end of the mat, leaving enough room to start rolling (Youtube has some great sushi videos). Top the kimchi with the tomato slices. Top the tomatoes with the bacon. Beside your stack of awesomeness, smear the mayo all the way across (like in the bad pic, my photographer had school today, my phone stepped in). Start rolling. When you get to the end, moisten your fingers and brush them across the edge so that it will stick (since you are not using rice). The liquid I used was kimchi juice.

IMG_20140127_125712

All rolled up, time to slice

IMG_20140127_125838

Kimchi, bacon, tomato, mayo, yummo πŸ™‚

I sliced up my blt and put it on a plate with a slice of left over bacon and some kimchi. I took another bad picture.

IMG_20140127_125913

Sir Hots a Lot said “Are you gonna eat or just keep taking pictures?”

I walked into the den and his hotness said “What is that smell? I was gonna try it, but that smells like fish.” (Good for me!!!)

As I ate the last slice I told him that the fishy smell was probably the nori, but it doesn’t taste fishy.

Maybe next time I roll up leftover meatloaf, pickles and whatevs he’ll try it. Nori makes good rolls, wraps, and “nori noodle soup” (in turkey bone broth, yum!).

Anyways, rice or no rice, the nori doesn’t care.

6 thoughts on “The nori still doesn’t care and OMG this BLT was freaking awesome!!

Feel free to comment

