So, Facebook has a “yearbook”, nifty

I went to find some article I’d shared recently when I noticed the green button on my timeline. I got to see my “Year in Review”, it was nifty. I came across this one post I made back in February, and thought I’d share it:

There are people who think I’m fat, I don’t care, it’s their opinion and those are the people who did not know me when I was morbidly obese.

On the other hand, my mom thinks I look “gaunt” because somewhere along my journey I grew some collar bones. Yeah, they probably were there all along, just hidden under my layers.

The following is the truth though… If I never lose another ounce, so be it, I am happy in my own skin. If I gain a few pounds on my way to optimal, so be it, I am happy in my own skin. I am a work in progress, eating real food, lifting heavy things, and laughing, a lot. I don’t think I’ve ever been as happy as I am now.

I learned a lot of things in my journey. I share those things just in case it might help someone else to find their way. In the hustle and bustle of day to day life, it is so easy to over look the little things that matter.

I guess the most important thing I have learned is patience. In this day and age we want it, and we want it now. Regardless of your desire, be it to get healthy, lose weight, or make more money, it doesn’t happen “now”, there is no quick fix or magic bean. Turn that depression into dedication. Take time to learn all you can instead of just relying on what you think you know. Open your mind to new things and take that leap of faith. That combined with time and patience is the only way to do it right, learn from it, and not make the same mistakes again.

Anyways, most of the rest of my “Year in Review” were food pics and general goofiness.

I didn’t have much to say today, so I wasn’t planning on a blog post, I said what I had to say on facebook this morning, I guess I can say it again here, short and sweet.

1. weight loss is complicated, don’t over think it.
2. “healthy” is more of a hip term, one person’s healthy is not healthy to another, remember that.
3. exercise does not make the scale only go one direction, that doesn’t mean don’t do it, it only means that you can’t out exercise a bad diet.
4. when someone says “I’m gonna do this, what will the results be?” always play the safe card “I don’t know” because while this or that may work for me, it may not work for you, remember take what you need and leave the rest, finding one’s own sweet spot is like hide and seek, enjoy it.
5. weight loss is not a race, it takes more time and patience than anyone could ever dream possible, but it is not impossible.
6. Don’t sell yourself short by using words like “un-attainable”, “impossible”, the human mind is a beautiful thing in that we can do pert near anything we set it to. Just because something looks like it’s not gonna happen anytime soon, that doesn’t mean NEVER…

 

6 thoughts on “So, Facebook has a “yearbook”, nifty

    • That is scary lol, but even more scary may be that you answered a few questions I had this morning without me even asking… I didn’t want to clutter the comments with my silliness, but in addition to helping me to understand resistant starch and look at it in not so much how I’ve been seeing it in other places, but a better view so to say, you totally explained to me why it is I can’t do half and half without bloating/tummy troubles, and maybe even why I’d never been a fan of milk as a kid.

      • Scary 🙂 Sorry about the half and half. Cream is better anyway, eh? (Laughter.) I think my dairy intolerance, like you, increased self-selection as a kid.

        I am so happy if you learned a bit more about resistant starch! Since we’re all “broken” in different places, I know some foods will work for some and not others–and resistant starch is no exception. Some of us will need to take the plunge into increasing resistant starch and others may not be able to. But it’s good to know what it does so if a person needs to gain an edge, they can try–like me. I was worried adding in potato would set off my carb monster, but plain with olive oil has not!

        NO comment will ever clutter my comment box! Questions help me know how I’m doing in trying to make this stuff understandable and how I should be approaching the topics!

        • Oh yes, cream is much better. Not setting off the carb monster is good to know. It was hard to wrap my head around the “cold potatoes” I’d heard about in various places, so for me, your approach and attention to details is so helpful.

Feel free to comment

