Everyone’s an expert… on their own bodies

Seriously. I really feel bad for those of you waking on this fine morning in 2013, set to task with forging path into your own weight loss journey.

There are quick fixes, quicker fixes, everyone has “the right advice” and there are more choices for “lifestyle change” than ever imagined. Thanks to the internet and social media there are so many n=1’s out there that really, just about everyone is an expert. (On their own bodies)

I’m thinking that the “class of 2013” is a big one when it comes to taking the path less followed by conventional wisdom, and opting for a leap of faith. (Don’t worry, there’s more and more science behind it on a regular basis, and pert near everyone who gives you the right advice will most likely have a link to back their claims. Still, though, remember, one size doesn’t always fit all and your miles may vary)

With the holidays coming up there seems to be an overflow of people asking for advice on getting the scale moving. The top reasons why have changed over the years, from you’re not eating enough,  you’re not eating enough fat, you’re eating too much protein.

My top three reasons for the scale not moving are 1. It’s not magic. 2. Time and patience. 3. 30 pounds in 30 days is not a realistic goal even if you can name 53 people who did it.

On this, the 24th day of Diabetes Awareness Month, I’ve got to tell you that you are going to run in to a lot of experts, just remember that you are the only person with potential to become an expert on your own body. Use your meter often, and take all advice with a grain of salt.

Moving on to #Fitness30 a.k.a. Move Every Day November:

Friday, November 22, 2013

  • general goofiness, weekend with the grandbabies

Saturday, November 23, 2013

  • general goofiness, see Friday

The plan was to be MIA today, but my darling hot husband cleaned up all the artwork and vacuumed up the breakfast remnants while May and I took the girls home. He is so awesome. I figure that also gives me time to do something other than the general goofiness done thus far today.

 

2 thoughts on “Everyone’s an expert… on their own bodies

  1. Once again, you hit the nail on the head. One size does not fit all. I know I’ve said it before, but I just love your common sense and your witty sense of humor! “Sir HotsAlot” (or whatever cute name you prefer) should be proud! You’ve come so far and are a great inspiration!

    • Thanks Debbie 🙂 I keep tellin’ him he’s a lucky guy lol. Seriously, I’m lucky to have him, any time I’ve ever uttered the words “I can’t” he’s been there to help me see that I can.

Feel free to comment

