Oysters Knockefeller

Getting such a good deal on the turkeys the other day, I couldn’t help but pick up a pound of fresh as I can find them in northern middle Tennessee, bucket of oysters.

I don’t fry them up in panko anymore. Yeah, I know “diabetics can eat what ever they want”, it’s true, there is really nothing off limits, but I choose to eat to my meter and maybe skip the whole complications part that comes from spikey spikes.

A wonderful thing happened when I opened that bucket. “Ewwweee Gross!!! I’m not eating those” said May. Yes, nicest thing she had said all day, more for me, yippee.

There is a warning on the bucket about how consuming raw seafood can be a hazard, to do so would be at one’s own risk, consult your doctor before eating raw seafood. Yeah, I read that after consuming the one I had on a spoon, a couple drops of lemon juice and hot sauce…

Raw, grilled, fried, stewed, it doesn’t matter with oysters, they’re always good. One thing I had never tried were Oysters Rockefeller. In finding some recipes on the net, looking at the recipe, I figured it’d just be safer for me to do a knock-off version. Besides, I didn’t have the shells, I don’t do panko anymore, and Pernod, what the heck is Pernod? (ok, I googled Pernod, and I know what it is now, but ain’t nobody got time to run to Nashville to find it)

The plan was to knock them all, but my ramekin collection has dwindled down to three. Instead, I ate one raw, knocked six, and stewed up the remaining four.

Oysters Knockefeller

  • 6 raw oysters (as fresh as you can get them)
  • 4 strips thick cut bacon, chopped and fried, liquid fat reserved
  • 3 oz chopped frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1 t minced dried onion
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1 shot lime twisted gin
  • 3 ramekins if you don’t have the shells
  • grated Parmesan cheese

After frying up the chopped bacon, remove the bits to drain with a slotted spoon (or what ever you want to remove them with). Turn the heat up to medium and add the spinach to the reserved bacon fat. Add minced onions and garlic, stirring well. Add the shot of gin, turn the heat up a bit, and cook for a few minutes. Remove from heat. Preheat oven to 350°.

Place two raw oysters in each ramekin. Top with a dollop of sauteed spinach. Top spinach with some of the chopped bacon, and sprinkle with Parmesan. Place ramekins on a tray or in a dish so that they don’t tip over. Place in preheated oven for 15 minutes.

006

Heaven in a bowl…

There were four remaining oysters. I deglazed the spinach pan with a bit of water, and added the last four nuggets of wonderful. Added some pepper, a bit of salt, a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, and some heavy whipping cream. Turned the temp up to medium and stewed those guys up.

It was a feast fit for a Khaleesi. The best thing about it was that His Hotness and Princess “I ain’t gonna eat that”, didn’t even want a taste. They were pretty happy with their chili dogs.

On this, the 20th day of Diabetes Awareness Month, I’d like to tell you that while it is true, a diabetic can eat what ever they want, sometimes we have to just roll with our needs and eat to our meter. I’ve learned that even though I can eat what everyone else eats, it doesn’t make me a weirdo to eat something different. It also makes me feel special when I can make something special for me, especially if the peanut gallery is in the corner saying “yuck yuck”.

Moving on to #Fitness30 a.k.a. Move Every Day November.

November 19, 2013

  • exercise via necessity (feeding the fire)
  • general goofiness, including, but not limited to a hot lunch date with my hot husband followed by a shopping trip, feeding the chickens, and a dog race followed by a howling competition. (Biscuit won both, but I was close, in second place)
  • 12 squats, the twelfth one was a curtsey squat as I handed His Hotness a glass of tea and asked “Would you like anything else, Ser?” (Maybe I got a little too into my book during my couple hours quiet time lol)

 

I know my whole workout looks a bit weak this morning, I didn’t hit the weight or the bags, I didn’t do an hour of cardio or take a spinning class. I did move all day long though. What I am trying to say is this, any movement is better than sitting still. The more we move, the more we are able to move. The more we are able to move, the more we like it and end up moving more. (We means Me in this situation, feel free to try it out yourself though and let me know how it works)

Today is looking like another nice day, leftover Oysters Knockefeller to break my fast, the sun is shining, chances are I’ll get in a girly workout instead of general goofiness today, well, after I tackle the housework I missed yesterday because of the general goofiness.

4 thoughts on “Oysters Knockefeller

  1. Oh, Oh, Ohhhhhh! I love Oysters!! Oysters Rockefeller is my all time favorite seafood delight. Last time David and I got our hands on some we simply roasted them in the oven until they just popped open. Then we spritzed lemon juice and a drop or two of Chipolte Hot Sauce…. OH MY!!!! Got to go find some oysters now… 😉

Feel free to comment

