For work, health, or just for fun, it’s that important

Today on this, the 12th day of Diabetes Awareness Month, I’d like to talk about how important exercise is.

How It Works

When you do moderate exercise, like walking, that makes your heart beat a little faster and breathe a little harder. Your muscles use more glucose, the sugar in your blood stream.  Over time, this can lower your blood sugar levels. It also makes the insulin in your body work better. You’ll get these benefits for hours after your walk or workout.

Just remember you don’t have to overdo it. Strenuous exercise can sometimes increase blood sugar temporarily after you stop exercising.  Very intense exercise can cause the body to make more stress hormones which can lead to an increase in blood sugar.

Quote from WebMD http://www.webmd.com/healthy-aging/nutrition-world-2/exercise-lower-blood-sugar

If you check out their link you will see that in their suggestions, they have walking, dancing, chores included in their list.

Maybe my problem was that I thought exercise wasn’t fun, it was hard, it hurt. Over time, I learned that it didn’t have to be hard or hurt, that it could even be fun, foam sword fights with the grandbabies wasn’t just a source of amusement, it was exercise.

Today is also day 12 of #Fitness30 a.k.a. Move Every Day November

Monday, November 12:

  • tote and stack firewood, 1 rick
  • 40 triceps dips (10 + 10 + 10 + 10)
  • 40 triceps kick backs (12.5# 10 + 10 L 10 + 10 R)
  • hunting and gathering at 3 grocers, furthermost space, tote the bags, bring it in the house.
  • fed the chickens
IMG_20131111_100851

It looks like a chore, but it’s exercise.

IMG_20131108_123320

The dolly makes it look easy, but you’ve got to lean backwards down the steps so the load doesn’t get away from you. Vibrams aren’t for wood toting, so I break out my old sneakers.

IMG_20131111_104648

So maybe I do stack like a girl.

Maybe it sounds silly, but my favorite winter activity/exercise is the firewood. It’s been 5 or 6 years since we got our wood stove. The first year alone, it paid for itself as far as our gas and electric bills no longer inducing heart attacks.

For the first few years, I was physically unable to help much with firewood. Yeah, I’d tote a piece down to his 40, but it was more of me being in the way than actually helping. The first time I tried my hand at toting and stacking for real though, something happened, something wonderful. I saw that while I could only do a little at a time, each time I could do a little more. One day last year, Michael came home, surprised that the wood had been re-located and asked who did it for me. I will never forget how proud I was when I told him that I had done it.

On the outside, exercise looks hard. Looking at exercise from another point of view, maybe the point about any movement can be exercise, it’s not so hard. Doing a little bit, building up over time shows us that we can do it as long as we keep trying. Then there is the whole part about it making you feel good. I know, I didn’t believe it either until I tried it….

2 thoughts on “For work, health, or just for fun, it’s that important

  1. I grew up with a wood burning stove. I liked loading wood, but my dad ALWAYS picked the day with the worst weather. ALWAYS. The coldest, wettest, windiest day. You’ve really got this healthy attitude down to a T. Could you write a post on realizing and accepting you just can’t eat certain things sometime? I keep banging my head on certain things (eggs and nuts). I always love your thoughts.

Feel free to comment

