And on the eighth day…

Eat less, exercise more, cut out the fat, hearthealthywholegrains, if you don’t have time to test, treat anyways. One size fits all in regards to treating disease, Type 2 Diabetes for example. There is only one problem with that, one size does not fit all.

I read some good news on Facebook yesterday, seems the American Diabetes Association has updated their nutritional guidelines. They’ve left out the whole part about how many carbs per meal, per snack, and by George, that’s pretty fantabulous. My brain seems to still be functioning pretty well on letting my meter be my guide, so thank you for getting out of my meal. Granted, you are still beside it, but I understand, there’s not enough focus on actually testing and seeing what works for a person on the individual level, so we still need a cafeteria monitor to make sure we’re not over doing the salt.

I really enjoyed this point, well except the part about low-fat dairy and whole grains, many fruit are ok with me, but after the banana test and seeing how Peter Parker felt, well, use your own judgement :

  • “Make your carbohydrates count! Eat non-starchy vegetables, beans, low-fat dairy, whole grains and fruit. Avoid pre-packaged, processed foods and focus on fresh foods instead.”

Ok, how do you get whole grains that are neither pre-packaged nor processed? Same question for low-fat dairy, really?

On the other hand, I like the following and wouldn’t change a thing, but that’s just for me, other people’s choices are other people’s business, and I will leave it up to them as to anything they’d like changed:

  • “Stay away from sugary drinks, including regular soda, sports drinks, sweet tea and fruit punch. Concentrate on drinking water and low-calorie drinks instead.”

But then we get to this little nugget of wisdom:

  • Fill up on non-starchy vegetables and cut back on your portion size of other foods. Following the Create Your Plate method is helpful.

In clicking on the whole helpful method though, there are things like cream of wheat, chips, popcorn, pretzels, whole grain high fiber cereal, and I can’t help but wonder “What in the heck are they thinking?” Seriously, they were doing very well when they said “Avoid pre-packaged, processed”, only to decide to go full on contradictory in the link to the so called healthy method…

Progress is great though.

Moving on.

Sometimes I talk about how I was lucky that my doc was called away and NP (Dr. to me) Christie intervened and set me to task. I got to thinking yesterday how maybe, just maybe, it was luck that got me the Type 2 Diabetes to begin with. 

Diabetes sucks, it’s not something I would have ever asked for on my own, but in hindsight, maybe it was something I needed.

I was a big baby, 8 pounds 10 ounces. While I wasn’t morbidly obese until adulthood, I was an obese child. I played outside. I ate what my family ate, they didn’t all get diabetes or morbidly obese. 

Being morbidly obese sucked too. People stared or looked through me, my weight was my invisibility cloak. Maybe that was luck also, because I sure didn’t ask for that either, it just happened. I wasn’t sitting around eating doses of “tha beetus” as some people like to refer to things they know nothing about…

Back to the lucky part. 

If I hadn’t gotten Diabetes, I’d most likely still be morbidly obese. I’d most likely still have my GERD, hypertension, and elevated cholesterol. 

The lucky part is that as bad as my Diabetes is, it has made me stronger. Diabetes has given me the tools to see why I was morbidly obese, testing my blood sugar, showing me what works and what doesn’t didn’t just teach me not to eat the things that spiked me, it taught me that by not eating those things, gradually over time, my label of morbidly obese went away. It showed me that I wasn’t the gluttonous sloth people thought I was, I was just someone who couldn’t lose weight going by the direction of those born on the finish line. 

I had a non-scale, non-diabetes victory yesterday. I’ve been a size 8/10 for a while, in yoga pants, dresses, hand-me-downs from my little sister and mom, from Goodwill. I’ve never been one to just go try on new clothes just for the heck of it, and well, I’ve never really liked clothes shopping anyways. 

It was cold, I realized I had no winter clothes, one pair of jeans only they were too big, so I just went clothes shopping. I purchased four outfits and a pair of riding boots. I’d wanted a pair of riding boots since childhood, but my calves were always too big. I got a pair of cowboy boots as a teen, but it wasn’t the same.

At the checkout the lady asked if I was going to wear the boots with the “jeggings” and sweater and I told her yes. She said “Girl, you are going to look hot!”. No one had ever said that to me. She made my day, my week. She made me smile, and then I cried all the way home. I know, I should have been happy, I finally got some riding boots and some size 8 jeans. All I could think about was that even as a teenager, I never was a size 8. I went from 6x to 16 it seemed like.

Every memory of every bad thing came flooding back on the drive home. I realized I hadn’t let myself actually be sad, too busy trying to stay strong, to show others that we can be tough, we can be strong, we can be what ever we put our minds to.

Those tears and moments of sadness are what actually brought me to the conclusion that for me Diabetes was pure luck and in some sick twisted way, I’m thankful that I got it. I’m thankful that I learned that it wasn’t because I was fat and lazy, it was just because. I’m not thankful for the whole four years of feeling poorly or all the gazillions of finger pricks, but I’m thankful that it taught me not to hate myself, it taught me not to take things for granted, to look at each day with diabetes as a blessing, considering the possibility of no days. 

#Fitness30 a.k.a Move Every Day November:

  • Fed Ace, Noah, Amos, Moose. (At my sister’s to the barn, to the round pen, to the house to let out Romeo)
  • Went shopping, parking in the furthermost parking spot.
  • Fed the chickens
  • housework/dancing (general goofiness)

I didn’t hit the weights or the bags. I planned on it, but like many well laid plans, they don’t always work out. Instead, I did a “fashion show” and modeled the new clothes, something way out of my comfort zone. 

 

 

6 thoughts on “And on the eighth day…

  1. “Instead, I did a “fashion show” and modeled the new clothes, something way out of my comfort zone.” I think you need to get used to this. 🙂 I understand. It took me a while to get used to being able to wear clothes from the normal size racks and, yes, boots (sometimes, I’m not sure I’ve gotten used to it).

    • Today felt a bit weird, maybe “over dressed” because I wore one of the new outfits with the boots just to take the girls home, but I felt so good wearing them, it was weird and funny at the same time, but when I went in the store on the way to get them some juice, I didn’t look at the floor, I held up my head and I never do that. You are so right, I do need to get used to it, or at least give it a good try!!

  2. Minus the Diabetes (which you describe and seem to handle with aplomb), I could have written this. I still long to own a pair of boots. Will you share a photo of them? You know…so we can live vicariously…

    • Thank you. Yes, I’m going to get May (my 13yo) to take some pics tonight after I peel the protective paper off the buckly things. I live in yoga pants, vibrams, and t-shirts, so the new clothes are way out of my comfort zone (boots included), but I can’t wait to get “un-comfortable” again!!! Have a great day 🙂

      • I saw these a couple weeks ago. Michael said try them on, only I had on vibrams, no socks, and well that thought in the back of my head “they’re never gonna zip”. Daring, yep, that’s how it felt too when I tried them on at the store and then at home. We’re getting the granbabies this weekend, so I probably won’t have a chance to actually wear them anywhere, but next week, watch out Tennessee, I’m gonna get comfortable outside of my comfort zone!!! Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

