cogito ergo sum

I think, therefore I am. 

For those of you who enjoy a good book, you can understand and appreciate getting lost in a good one. One’s reading chair, library, what have you can be magically transformed through the author’s written words.

I found myself engrossed in “City of Glass” this afternoon, I was in Alicante, neither Shadowhunter, nor Downwolder, merely a fly on the wall, witness to the battles of good and evil.

Our minds are powerful tools. Ever talked yourself out of doing something, just because you thought you couldn’t do it? Or maybe figured you ate what ever it was that gave you that spike, even though you knew you were going to get the spike, but just didn’t have the will power to say no? (pork wonton, the banana was a scientificy experimajig)

*disclaimer: I have never had the thing called will power, I have had to beat myself up a few times and do some internet confessions, but to me, will power is a myth, that is all.

Something I did learn along the way was to think. I had to stop the whole spontaneous, spur of the moment reaction towards food and make a conscious decision. Unlike people who are on a diet to fit in a bikini by December, I’m not really on a diet, I Just Eat Real Food to my meter (minimally processed foods, the kinds that don’t have nutrition labels or purchased seals of approval). I have to because I am a Type 2 Diabetic, foods with added sugar, high fructose corn syrup, and certain fillers tend to spike my blood sugar.

Spiking my blood sugar puts me on the blood sugar roller coaster so to say and well, it’s not the fun kind like at Dollywood. As a Type 2 Diabetic, I really don’t have the option of just winging it all the time, falling on and off the wagon, what have you. Yeah, if the only option is fast food, I can persevere, I can order a whopper with cheese, no bun and a side salad, and I’m not afraid to do it.

Making a lifestyle change, changes to one’s diet (the things we eat, not the bikini stuff) is not easy. It’s down right tough sometimes when you’re sitting there minding your own business and someone says “C’mon, just one bite won’t kill you.”, and they’re right, one bite wouldn’t kill me. One bite for me is merely the first step on a slippery slope that leads to repetitive slips, until I stop it.

I think, therefore I am.

Sometimes I have to think that I am a statue, carved in stone, stronger than the cravings, the desire. Sometimes I’ve just got to go outside, get some air. Sometimes I like to think I am alongside Ygritte and Jon Snow as they fight the Whitewalkers on the Wall.

Imagine yourself being in control of this thing called Diabetes. No matter your Type, work with your doctors to come up with a plan designed for your individual needs and see yourself successful in your journey.

I think, therefore I am.

I think it’s pretty darned great that Diabetes Awareness Month and #Fitness30 a.k.a. Move Every Day November happen to coincide. It was also coincidence when my mother in law called yesterday morning to see if I wanted to go for a walk. She didn’t know it was Move Every Day November, but we moved anyways and like always, our walk was filled with laughter, Johnny Depp, Jon Bon Jovi, and Adam Levine. (giggles) Our walk helped me to evade leaf raking, but the wind was fighting me, oh well, more movement today, thank you wind for the bonus leaves  😉

November 6

  • 5 laps at the park (approximately 1.5 miles)
  • 50 squats
  • parked way back at the store, twice, I forgot something.
  • 50 sit ups

I didn’t hit the weights today, but I did read a nice article by Dr. Spencer Nadolsky about pumping iron.  While I’m not sure if it could have prevented my particular Diabetes, I enjoyed reading the why’s and how’s.

Feel free to comment

