Banana pecan chocolate chip cheesecake minis

Up until a couple of weeks ago, I hadn’t really thought about bananas. My husband and I couldn’t think of anything we really wanted for our anniversary, well, except a weekend out of town (which we got) and spending good quality time with each other (which we got), so I thought I’d make him some banana pudding. You know, the kind that you make with real eggs, milk, sugar, bananas, vanilla wafers, and meringue.

I am amazed at what a vanilla custard recipe looks like these days, a half cup of flour and a couple cups of sugar? Seriously? Because I love my hot hunk of husbandness, I went with my gut and opted for at least a lower carb version for the custard part, using whole milk, eggs, a scant tablespoon of cornstarch, and a half cup of sugar. With naturally sweet bananas and vanilla wafers, covered in baked meringue, who needs a bunch of flour and excessive sugaring? Not my guy…

The pudding was a hit, it also hit me that maybe I didn’t have to avoid bananas all together myself. May is pretty much over the peanut butter chocolate chip cheesecakes that have replaced danger muffins in her lunch box, and well, she was ready for something different. Using the “what’s the worst that could happen?” mentality, I set to task.

I was kinda hoping that there would be no need for splenda in this recipe, because bananas are so naturally sweet, but these were on the green side, a bit bitter. If you have bruised ones, maybe skip the splenda, taste the batter, and choose to omit it if so desired.

Ingredients:

  • 2 bananas (ripe if you can find them)
  • 1/4 cup milled pecans
  • 1 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup splenda
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons dark chocolate chunks or chips
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature

I pulled out the KitchenAid for this one. Mash bananas in mixing bowl, add cream cheese, splenda (you may be able to omit the splenda if your bananas are riper than mine were), cinnamon, and milled pecans, mix on medium speed until well blended, as smooth as bananas, pecans, and cream cheese can be. Remove from mixer and scrape down bowl.

Fold in eggs, one at a time, using a wooden spoon. Stir in chocolate chips. Preheat oven to 350° and line a 12 serving muffin pan with foil cupcake liners. Scoop batter into foil lined muffin cups until approximately 3/4 full.

IMG_20131020_170602

If you would like to make sure that the chips are divided equally, wait until you have the batter in the tins and then plop them on top, or not, your choice.

Place muffins into the pre-heated oven for 20 minutes. No peeking, set a timer, read a couple chapters of what suits you, and just pull them out of the oven when they are ready.

IMG_20131020_174345

You will be tempted to taste them hot. Cheesecake is not good hot. Do not taste them yet, let them cool, then refrigerate them, you’re welcome…

I did not want to call these low carb, because with chocolate chips there are 7.57 grams of carbohydrates in each of the twelve muffins. If you are just beginning your low carb journey, maybe like me, you should wait a couple and half years before adding bananas back into your diet. Regardless, as always test prior, one and two hours after consuming any new to you food to see how they affect your blood sugar.

If you would like more nutritional info, here:

banana chocolate chip cheesecake cups (pending)

cals: 120kcal | fat: 9.10g | carbs: 7.57g | prot: 2.90g
without chocolate chips:

banana cheesecake cups (pending)

cals: 108kcal | fat: 8.35g | carbs: 6.07g | prot: 2.81g
(special thanks to my fatsecret account for the tally, they have updated the site, love it)
Here is a pic of a sliced mini, chilled overnight in the fridge:
004

May really enjoyed the banana chocolate chip cheesecake mini with her lunch today. She will most likely tire of them in a couple of weeks, maybe next up pumpkin, who knows?

Speaking of pumpkins, would you believe I spent two hours in the sunshine doing this???

007

I’ve got one pumpkin left to carve, some meatloaf to make, and maybe I’ll call it a day 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Banana pecan chocolate chip cheesecake minis

    • May is my youngest daughter, 13.

      Bananas are pretty high in carbs, about 26.95g carbs (14.43g sugar) per medium banana, so for low carbers, and un-controlled diabetics, maybe not such a good idea.

      Since cutting out sugar, starches, grains, I’ve mostly stuck to berries for my fruit fix. Having more lean mass than fat mass these days, maybe a half banana occasionally wouldn’t be such a bad thing. It would have to be ripe though, bitter bananas are not tasty raw lol. Maybe do a test one day to see how they affect my blood sugar now. Have a great day 🙂

      • 1) Ah! How does that work having a 13 year old in the house with regard to eating? Does she eat the way you eat? Do you find it challenging to not eat what she can eat? How old was she when you “made” the nutritional change?

        2) I have never really counted carbs, although have a fair idea of what has more than what. I had never made the time to look at bananas actual carb number-wise. Quite high considering I might do 2-3 banana, although nutrient density-wise I knew they were desert. Those bitter bananas are high in something called resistant starch, though, which feed the colon’s bacteria and create butyrate–which sounds like quite a powerful little agent. I’ll post about it soon. However, GAPS/SCD says to only eat the very ripe bananas due to sugar being more fructose than sucrose, or something like that. I’d love to hear what they do to your blood sugar! I guess the berries don’t bump it too much?

        3) Congratulations on reaching your goal (?)! Thanks for the reply, and you have a great day, too!

        • 1) Yes, she eats this way at home. That being said, she went to Gatlinburg for fall break with her Nana and Papaw, gained 7 pounds and brought home contraband in the form of ramen noodles in her luggage. It was promptly confiscated. She was 10.

          2) I’ve heard about resistant starch (mostly on workout sites maybe?), but only “resistant starch”, no researching or anything, starch scares me (kidding). I’m looking forward to your butyrate post, and have enjoyed the posts leading up. I did test after having a mini, 94 at 1 hour and 88 at 2 hours.

          As for the berries, at first, I had problems with strawberries, they spiked me, but I also had about 70 more pounds (mostly fat) on my frame. Ate them as part of a meal for a long time to keep things normal. For about a year now I can do strawberries or blackberries by themselves with no problems.

          I have a banana left on the counter, still kinda green, should be about ripe in the morning. I’m going to try it after testing my fasting glucose. I’m kinda nervous because in the past year I’ve only hit 140 once (sushi on my birthday). Most postprandial readings are below 120 these days.

Feel free to comment

