What Doctors Aren’t Telling You About Statins—But Should

Q: Can statins raise your blood sugar?

A: Yes. When the JUPITER study came out, as well as some results from the Women’s Health Initiative, post-menopausal women taking statins experienced blood sugar elevations up to 48%! Pre-menopausal women had blood sugar elevations of 13 percent. High blood sugar can cause proteins in your blood to combine with excess blood sugar (called “glycation”), which can prematurely age you. The good news is that if you go off the statin blood sugar elevations will come down.

via What Doctors Aren’t Telling You About Statins—But Should.

edit: The above is from Dr. Stephen Sinatra’s blog this morning, co-author of “The Great Cholesterol Myth”, the link is to the rest of the article. Below are my thoughts.

We owe it to ourselves to make informed decisions when it comes to medication. There is not much transparency in trials (As we learned from Dr. Malcolm Kendrick the other day). Sometimes the side effects are much worse than the benefit, especially when the benefits can be obtained through lifestyle changes rather than medications.

5 thoughts on “What Doctors Aren’t Telling You About Statins—But Should

  1. I don’t have time to jaunt over and read the article you linked. But as an ex-practicing doctor (by choice–not anything I did wrong–LOL!!!!), when I was in the trenches, I feel like it was all I could do to keep my head above water. The CME (that was required and quite expensive) was poor at really giving me practical stuff that I needed to help treat my patients. I was a good doctor, and I cared, but all the stuff I’m learning now on my own–would have really helped my outpatient clinic patients. If I could have gotten them to try!

    • When I gave my doc the copy of “JUPITER: a Few Words of Caution” (the link I shared in the other comment), he did not know the JUPITER study had even ended early. I do not blame him, I’ve been in his waiting room, I’ve been in his examination rooms, oft times people complaining because they had to wait and just wanted their meds anyways.

      It is a shame that office managers/insurance/who ever puts quantity over quality. I don’t remember a time when I’ve seen him have time to collect his thoughts prior to having to go into the next exam room. “The powers that be” (who ever?) treat him like a number on a graph.

      Anyways, all statins and other medication aside, I really think that in order for health care to improve, it needs to start at the bottom, with us (me) patients. We owe it to ourselves to at least try and do the things we can to prevent preventable symptoms, complications, et al.

      The world has become too convenient, not just food, health care, everything. We’ve become lazy, we’ve taken our health for granted, we rely on the doctors to fix us when we won’t even take time to help fix ourselves. We oft times blame doctors when we should look in the mirror. Our grandparents did not have near the problems we had, with “progress” being such a good thing, it seems we should be doing better, but we’ve lost out on what really matters along the way.

      Sorry for the long winded reply. I totally respect you and other doctors. I am thankful for the NP that set me to task as far as controlling my diabetes. I only wish I had become a better patient sooner.

Feel free to comment

