Spooky Ookies and Creepy Crawlies

There aren’t a lot of things scarier than my diabetes, well, except the sight of my hair early in the morning, but I won’t spook you with that today.

I’ve always been a big fan of fall, leaves changing, chilly mornings, and all things Halloween. There was one big problem though, my diabetes. It made me tired, it made me not want to do things because I didn’t feel good, if pumpkins were carved or any thing else done, I was on the bench, on the team yeah, but not an active player.

I’ve told you previously that all bets are off now, I’m a different person since whooping my diabetes into submission as long as I keep JERFing and stuff, so I won’t bore you with that again, rather I’ll show you what my diabetes and me have been doing all week for kicks and giggles…

002

Cujo is a mummy for Halloween

003

Chef Piggy is a witch for Halloween

006

He said no spiderwebs at first, so I limited myself to only 10 bags, oops…

009

Dude has been getting a lot of stares from people driving by. I think he’s kinda cute in a creepy sort of way lol

010

Because I’m a big GOT fan, I had to have heads on spikes. That’s Cersei and Joffrey…

021

I think Melisandre deserves her own spike too, with extra spiders…

017

The giant spider didn’t really work out that well, so I webbed it…

025

I moved my gargoyles to the front garden so they could hang out with the other spooky ookies.

027

The path through the front garden has been converted to a cemetery.

023

hanging ghosties

031

The little path lights don’t show up well in the daylight, but they are cute, gotta get a close up. I had to take another pic of Dude after getting the webs up.

033

Since I’m reading “City of Ashes”, I figured that this was a glamour spider, he looks pretty harmless and sparkly, but that is because of the glamour, he’s really very scary…

I hope today’s yard safari has you all giggling as much as I have been. I can’t believe I missed out on all this fun for so many years. If you are a type 2 diabetic like I am, do yourself a favor and JERF to your meter.

Like Halloween, Type 2 Diabetes is only as scary as we let it be, take away what fuels it and you take away it’s power.

16 thoughts on “Spooky Ookies and Creepy Crawlies

  1. I had to wrack my brains to figure out what JERF is, but I think I can guess what it is. At least it doesn’t sound like tweak! Does your neighborhood prepare for Halloween this early? It’s fun though. Thanks for sharing the photos.

    • So far, we’re the first on our street. All the stores already have out Christmas decor, so I figured I was late with the Halloween lol. Our street is really busy, with fast drivers that ignore the “slow, children at play” signs. There is a lot up the street, used to be a house, the city bought it and tore it down. They were supposed to make it an extension of our road, but did not. I’m trying to get up my courage to go to the mayor and ask him to make it a parking lot just for Halloween so that he can shut down a part of our road so the kids can walk safely on Halloween. (Our road seems to be a short-cut, but for one night, it would be nice to have no speeders and no smashed squirrels). Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Just Eat Real Food. I started with Low Carb/Atkins, but things like sugar alcohol and some fillers have not so desirable effects on my blood sugar and tummy. I try to stay away from things that have a lot of ingredients that I can’t pronounce, that being said, I don’t really have the heart to give up splenda, so I’m not a perfect little JERFer, but better than I was on that hot pocket/frozen pizza/microwave burrito diet ๐Ÿ™‚

Feel free to comment

