Pickled Banana Peppers

It’s been a long time since I’ve canned anything. I gave up jam every summer when I gave up sugar, so when the stuffed banana peppers didn’t put a dent in the bag, I pulled out some jars and got busy. Peppers are pretty easy, not many ingredients, but it’s the hardware that’s important.

022

1. a magnet on a stick for getting the lids and bands out of boiling water. 2. jar clamps for getting jars in and out of boiling water. 3. a canning funnel with the wide bottom. 4. a towel. 5. the item in which you are canning.

I sliced the banana peppers into rings. I did not remove the seeds and membranes, but I also did not freak out when I ended up with a lot of seeds and membranes left on my cutting board.

The jars should be washed and sterilized. I sterilize mine in boiling water because that is the way I learned, and well, as the dishwasher, it was impossible for me to sterilize them in the dishwasher. Here is a link to give you instructions if you’ve never canned before: http://www.pickyourown.org/pepperspickled.htm This link also contains the recipe I am using today.

Since I sliced my peppers (about 2 pounds), save for one jar, I needed more liquid and made the recipe plus half the recipe.

  • 7 1/2 c white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 c water
  • 6 t pickling salt
  • 3 T sugar
  • 3 cloves garlic

Heat in a non-reactive saucepan until boiling, reduce to a simmer for 10 minutes.

023

After filling with rings, pour liquid over peppers in each jar, leaving 1/2″ headspace. Top with lids and bands (do not put them on too tight)

Once the jars were sterilized and my peppers sliced, remove each jar carefully to the towel with the jar tongs. Remove bands and lids as needed with the magnet stick.  I filled each jar with pepper rings. After you have peppers in all the jars, pour the liquid in. (you can toss the garlic if you want to) Leave 1/2″ from the top before putting your lids and bands on. Don’t screw the bands too tight.

If you sterilized your jars in a big pot rather than the dishwasher, turn the heat back up. Using your jar tongs, gently place each jar back into the canner. Once the water starts boiling, set the timer for 10 minutes. If you are at a high altitude, refer to the link for times.

026

The filled jars in the canner, just starting to boil.

Carefully remove each filled jar onto the towel again to cool. You will hear a popping noise as they seal. After an hour if you have one that has not sealed, push down on the middle of the lid a few times works most of the time.

030

I let them sit on the towel until completely cooled.

Wait at least 24 hours before eating them, they’re better the longer they sit, 48 hours is ok. If you got your peppers from your gardening neighbor, give them a jar.

I realize this recipe does contain sugar. 3 tablespoons of sugar divided by six jars combined with the fact that I seriously doubt anyone is going to drink the juice, doesn’t really concern me. The peppers will no doubt be consumed as part of a meal containing protein and fats, so I don’t really think my diabetes will have a problem with them.

As always though, check your blood sugar before and one and two hours after consuming any new to you food.

 

2 thoughts on “Pickled Banana Peppers

    • Those sound good, I love horseradish!! Thank you for the splenda tip, I will use it on the next batch. DH’s sweet tea is mostly splenda these days, so it should work out fine. Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

