The type 2 diabetic common denominator

As humans, we have things in common like breathing air rather than using gills under water. Some of us humans have even more things in common like eye or hair color, but our similarities most likely end there when it comes to the entire human race.

As human beings with Type 2 Diabetes, we also have a common denominator, the inability of our bodies to handle sugar/starches/what have you. The similarities pretty much end there.

With so many diabetic medications on the market, it’s pretty much safe to assume that different people do better on different medications. Just as the assumption of eating certain foods will have a different impact on someone else’s blood sugar than it does on mine or yours or so and so down the street.

Another should be common denominator we share is the means and ability to test our blood sugar, upon waking, one and two hours after eating, and prior to bed. When we test often, we often find what works for us and what works against us.

This morning, Dr. Jack Kruse posted this gem: “What others say about you is not a reflection of you it is a reflection of their world. Don’t tell me what other people have told you about yourself…….just tell me about you. It all begins with that person realizing they are their best own healer. N=1 is much more powerful than anyone wants to know………..” https://www.facebook.com/drjackkruse?ref=stream&hc_location=stream

In this new world of Paleo, Primal, LCHF, ZC, VLC, the list goes on, it is easy to be swept away in the sea of information. The bottom line is this: when having conversations that revolve around diet/lifestyle, there is really no one sure way set in stone when it comes to improving our health and losing weight. Taking what I need and leaving the rest works for me. When someone who is not a type 2 diabetic like me tells me “Sweet potatoes are fine, I eat them all the time”, it doesn’t necessarily mean that sweet potatoes are fine for me.

Maybe a couple years into my journey (as it turned out) sweet potatoes are not so bad when eaten occasionally and in moderation. The thing is that until we really take the time to test our blood sugar, we really have no idea of the effects of this or that.

While the more recent diet/lifestyles are great and wonderful in their own merit, I’ve learned that not one on it’s own is right for me. What is right for me is what I have learned through testing my own blood sugar and keeping track of what I eat. I eat things that don’t make me spiky. Sometimes a meal can look paleo, add a bit of cheddar and it’s a bit more on the primal side, sometimes LCHF, sometimes VLC or ZC, just depends on what I am hungry for. Titles for diet/lifestyle are great in that it gives one a starting point and helps us to find ourselves somewhere along the way.

I’ve told you previously that I did indeed begin my journey with Atkins. Because I cannot consume the processed bars (sugar alcohols and I clash and it’s ugly), some say “you’re not Atkins”, well, fine, I’m not. I’m also not really Paleo because sometimes I enjoy dairy products. A combination of PrimalLCHFsometimesVLCevenZC fits me better, but that is really too long of a title, so I will just sum it up in one word: Meleo. I eat minimally processed whole foods that do not spike my blood sugar. I test new foods and I test after eating out, drinking alcohol, at bedtime and upon waking. While I don’t test after each meal, I’ve had two and a half years to figure out what works and I stay away from what doesn’t.

What I am trying to say is this: You have a meter, choose your starting point, don’t give up when you come to a fork in the road of your journey, simply choose which ever direction works for you and keep going with your blood glucose meter as your guide.

2 thoughts on “The type 2 diabetic common denominator

    • Dr. Kruse is pretty awesome. The first time I read his blog/quilt, I was skeptical, but like most things in the past couple of years I went with the “what’s the worst that could happen?” approach.

Feel free to comment

