Low Carb Sausage Balls

I’ve shared with you previously, one of my meatball recipes. You may have noticed that there are no bread crumbs in my meatballs, because bread crumbs are fillers. I don’t do fillers. I don’t mind adding taste in the form of chopped onion, cheese, mushrooms even, but seriously, have you ever tasted bread crumbs?

Back in the old days (pre-lowcarbhighfat, back when I was over 200 pounds), I made sausage balls. I made them for the school parties and there were never any left. I also made them with a pound of sausage and nearly a cup of freaking flour. (gag me with a spoon)

Times have changed, I lost 82 pounds and all my medications for those ailments that oft times come with morbid obesity. (type 2 diabetes, GERD, hypertension, elevated cholesterol) I found that the weight loss was really just a side effect of controlling my blood sugar by testing often, keeping in touch with my doc on a weekly basis, and not eating foods that spiked me. Flour spiked me, so I just don’t do flour anymore. (it’s really not torture)

The first time I thought about sausage balls, I changed my mind. I was of the old faith that one must needs flour in order to become the tasty morsels that delight one’s tongue. Once we got the pig parts back (Bubba’s sisters), I fell in love with sausage again. The sausage from our pigs tastes happy. You can tell from one bite that these pigs were well fed and well treated. There’s not a lot of fat ( 80/20% ), so I’ve got to use bacon grease or lard when pan frying. On the other hand, it is perfect for sausage balls without the fillers.

  • 1 pound fresh pork sausage (your favorite brand or from your own hog)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese (the kind in the jar, crumblies)
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Glove up and get to squishing. Once you’ve got it mixed all good, un-glove and re-glove. Grab a cookie scoop if you’ve got one and scoop them all out on a parchment paper lined baking sheet, then roll them up with your re-gloved hands. If you don’t have a cookie scoop, just pinch off bits of the meat dough and roll it up as you go. There is no need to un-glove and re-glove, that was only for the sake of not getting the other utensils dirty 😉

Try not to let them touch, but don’t beat them if they get friendly. It will be ok. Put them in a preheated 375° oven and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and remove from pan onto paper towels if so desired. You can remove them straight to a plate with some hot and spicy mustard if so desired…

IMG_20130722_085632

Tell me you wouldn’t eat a plate of them…

The recipe makes between 24 and 40 sausage balls, depending on the size scoop or pinch used. The 80/20 mix works well as far nobody freaking noticed that I didn’t use any flour. Michael took the left overs to work. I figured no one would eat them ever since they found out the sweet tea is mostly splenda… but they ate them, all of them.

See, fillers only taste good when you haven’t tasted without them. Try it out yourself. Get some flour, just ¼ teaspoon would work out nicely, and eat it. No, don’t spit it out, savor it, kidding, spit that stuff out, into the trash!

9 thoughts on “Low Carb Sausage Balls

  1. Fillers add texture which is a component of eating. But, as you say, they not only may not only not have taste of their own they may reduce the total taste because fiber tends to absorb some of the volatile compounds that contribute to taste. That’s why a BLT-hold-the-toast tastes better than a regular BLT although may not be better in total mouth feel. Obvious good recipe. Probably this week.

    • I am truly thankful for all you have done and continue to do in the fight against diabetes and obesity. Thank you.

      (The silly girl side of me is saying “OMG I can’t believe Professor Feinman is going to try out my sausage balls”!!!)

  2. Pingback: The thing about breakfast sausage… | mydiabetesandme

  3. Pingback: These potatoes are good, did you try them? | mydiabetesandme

Feel free to comment

