Just one day?

I was sitting on the porch the other day, doing nothing in-particular, just enjoying the fresh air, sunshine, and random thoughts invoked by such things, when I thought how nice it would be to have a vacation from my diabetes.

Just a week would be nice. I could put my meter away, not worry about the sugar content or whether or not there was any ingredient like wheat or high fructose corn syrup lurking in my plate at what ever dining establishment I was dining at.

Maybe a week where I could go to Torino’s just once and get the veal Parmesan with a side of spaghetti instead of the Charlie’s Good Kebab. (seriously, I can not believe I thought about that and yes, I smacked myself.)

As thought progressed I thought that it really didn’t have to be a whole week, maybe a weekend to not have to worry about the complications of diabetes or re-igniting that addiction to what ever it was I used to needs.

The more I thought about it, the more I began to think that a weekend would be too long. Just one day of not knowing what my postprandial or fasting glucose was would have me all in a tizzy and I would end up testing the following morning.

Besides the veal Parmesan and side of spaghetti I couldn’t remember anything else in this whole wide world of food that was really worth a day off.

The problem is that I like what I eat on my days on, so why would I need a day off? I’ve pricked my finger so many times in the past 8 years that it’s more like second nature.

This morning I was sitting at my desk, perusing the many health related articles linked by friends and family from various social media sites and email, when I decided that it’s not really my diabetes I need a day off from, it’s all the information that varies from one link to the next that I need a day off from.

See, I know what works for me, I eat according to the little beep of my meter, I’ve had a couple of years to learn what spikes me and what keeps me in the “norm”. I like to read other information because I know that as different as our fingerprints, that our diabetes is different also.

Find what works for you, use your blood glucose meter often, embrace your journey to a healthier self, and me? I’m gonna get my new to me book and enjoy a little reading on the porch.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Just one day?

    • It’s a page turner. Our 13 yo calls me weird because I actually like to read. I told her that the only thing weird about me reading is that I prefer books of words typed onto paper. Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

