Danger Muffins to the rescue

School started last week, YAY ME! (Kidding, I really miss all the excitement of having a teenager at home bored and grumpy all day long…) With the start of the school year comes the task of finding something that is grain free and mostly sugar free as part of her lunch. Since the school cafeteria is heavy on the grains and breaded maybe meats, that is not an option. 

I thought about making the peanut butter cookies like most of last year, but she said they were always crumbly. Asking about the peanut butter cheesecake, she said “You always make cheesecake”, I guess that was a no. She finally decided “Whatever, I’ll just starve to death.” 

Sometimes I make her a peanut butter chocolate chip MIM (muffin in a minute, google it). Flax makes my tummy sad, so I use PB, egg, splenda, and chocolate chips instead of the flax that is often called for in MIMs. I figured I would just try something out in the oven on a bit larger scale and this is what happened:

006

Because they were dangerously good.

As you may be able to tell by now, I don’t really measure. I like to consider myself more of a kitchen witch, if you will, a dab of this, a bit of that, excitedly waiting for the poof and results. I really wanted to share these last week, but I could see how my scoops of peanut butter may be different from your scoops and well, different measures have different yields.

Last night, I dusted off the old food scale, a notebook, and a sharpie. I got to work on re-creating the Danger Muffins, measuring as I went, and writing it down:

  • 10 oz peanut butter (I used Peter Pan, Natural, creamy, no high fructose corn syrup)
  • 1 t baking powder (I used generic store brand)
  • 3/4 c sucralose (I used generic store brand, $3.99 vs $6.99, need I say more?)
  • 3 eggs 
  • 3 T water
  • 2 oz dark chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

In a decent sized bowl, mix eggs, sucralose, baking powder, and peanut butter until smooth. One bit of advice, mix slow at first so you don’t have a sucralose dust cloud. After a few minutes it should look like this:

030

Ok, it didn’t kill me to measure and write stuff down.

I mixed it with a spoon. You can use a fork or a hand mixer, what ever you feel most comfortable with. While they are called “Danger Muffins”, the danger doesn’t happen until they are cooked. Since we are not using any sharp knives or power tools, I would say this recipe is pretty safe from physical harm until we open the oven door. Just be careful and wear oven mitts when that time comes… 😉

Mix in the water and the chocolate chips.

034

I’m thinking you could probably just grab the cookie scoop and some parchment paper and call it a day, but we’re making muffins…

Grab a muffin pan and some cupcake papers. Last night I used the foil lined papers and like them better. I used a cookie scoop to fill 11 cupcake papers about ¾ full.

037

Ready for baking.

Bake muffins in a 375° oven for 12-14 minutes. I checked them at 12 minutes with an old pat on top of one, a little sinky, so I let them cook 2 more minutes. I admit that was a bit dangerous and you might want to use the toothpick method to check if they are done.

046

Cutting one open with a butter knife was not dangerous. Tasting them hot was a little risky, they were dangerously good.

I’m thinking that these will be my new go-to when asked to bring something, what ever, to where ever. The hold up great in the lunch box, or so my thirteen year old reports, thank goodness she won’t starve to death! I know they’re still dangerously tasty after being refrigerated over night (s), because I’ve been doing a daily experiment on their taste, for quality control of course. 

048

oh yeah, they’ll work for a party 🙂 they are less dangerous when there are less to go around 🙂

I don’t normally get the nutritional info because I’m no longer really dieting, just eating when I’m hungry and trying to stay away from things that spike me. One muffin does not spike me, two muffins potentially could. Thank you Fatsecret for the tally: 

Recipe by member: ijedic

danger muffins

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 serving
 
Amount Per Serving
Calories from Fat 165

Calories 241

 
% Daily Values*
Total Fat 18.28g 28%
  Saturated Fat 4.19g 21%
  Polyunsaturated Fat 0.164g  
  Monounsaturated Fat 0.457g  
Cholesterol 51mg 17%
Sodium 190mg 8%
Potassium 180mg  
Total Carbohydrate 10.57g 4%
  Dietary Fiber 2.2g 9%
  Sugars 5.73g  
Protein 8.96g  
 
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 3% Iron 5%
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs. 

Nutrition Values are based on USDA Nutrient Database SR18

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Danger Muffins to the rescue

Feel free to comment

