Bacon wrapped things and turnip greens

015

Bacon wrapped red snapper and shrimp, yum

003

I cut the snapper into 6 ounce fillets, kinda thick because I like them like that.

Place four strips of bacon onto a cutting board and cut in half. Place one fillet onto one set of four halves and place another fillet onto the other set of four. (Repeat for four servings) Since bacon makes it’s own grease, I did not grease the baking dish. If I hadn’t used all the parchment paper for the shrimp, I would have lined the dish with parchment paper to prevent this:

012

It wasn’t that bad, a little elbow grease and a green scrubby and we were good to go.

Sprinkle with your seasoning of choice, I used Old Bay and some black pepper. Bake fish in a preheated oven at 375° for 30 minutes.

For the shrimp, I peeled and deveined a pound of medium shrimp. I cut about ¾ pound of bacon into fourths. Wrap ¼ slice of bacon around each shrimp and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Season as desired. (I desired cumin, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder)

005

Since the shrimp take longer to wrap, I wrapped them first and put them in the fridge until ready to cook.

Bake shrimp in a preheated oven at 350° for 25-30 minutes, or until they look like this:

011

These are my kind of finger lickin’ good 🙂

Since the prep work for this meal was a bit complicated, I opted for the pre-washed and chopped bagged turnip greens from the produce department of what ever grocer I had gone to that particular trip. Since bacon was pretty much the theme of dinner I wilted them in a couple tablespoons of bacon grease, added chopped red onion, crushed red pepper, salt, black pepper, and water. The water was just enough to cover wilted greens, brought it to a boil and then simmered for a few hours. When I finished wrapping the shrimp there were a couple ¼ strips of bacon left and I tossed them into the greens pot.

2 thoughts on “Bacon wrapped things and turnip greens

Feel free to comment

