I’ll take the long answer, please

When I see folks I’ve not seen in a while, they tend to notice that I lost a little weight. The question I am most asked is “What do you eat?”. My reply pretty much takes some form of “it’s easier to tell you what I don’t eat, sugar, starches, grains.” Some folks tell me that my body needs the sugar for energy and brain function and the grains for all that awesome heart healthiness. Sometimes people tell me that they would surely die without (insert something made with sugar, grains, or a combination of the two). The conversation usually changes subjects and wondering just what I eat or have eaten to lose the weight is a faded memory.

Every now and then though, I am asked for the long answer. Recently I was asked for the long answer and I really had to think about it. Eating what I eat now might not be ideal for where someone else is in their journey. For example if I tell you that sometimes I eat sweet potatoes, mashed, baked, chopped and fried, sweet potatoes may hinder your weight loss. The same could be said of the dark chocolate and peanut butter that I indulge in occasionally.

The long answer is that what I eat now is not what I ate when I began my journey. It also helps that somewhere along my way (Dr. Kruse’s Leptin Rx that I’ve mentioned a time or two) I learned the difference in hunger and habit. My indulgence in peanut butter and dark chocolate is pretty much a teaspoon of peanut butter to dip my ounce of dark chocolate into, whereas in my past I would have been unable to stop there.

Today I figure I will share my long answer. I think it only fair that my long answer reflect the beginning of my journey, so it won’t be so long after all.

Meat, beef, pork, and venison. Poultry, chicken, turkey, and cornish game hens. Eggs. Seafood, fish, shellfish, and crustaceans. Dairy, heavy whipping cream, salted butter, hard cheese. Vegetables, leafy greens, salad greens, cabbage, tomatoes, onions, peppers, celery, squashes, mushrooms, green beans, broccoli, and cauliflower. Fruits, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries.

Grilled, smoked, crock potted, baked, broiled, pan fried, I’m not very picky. I do not eat “breaded maybe meats”, so if the word nugget comes behind fish or chicken, I did not eat it.

When we dine out I order meat, salad and vegetables, a burger with no bun and a side salad, fajitas without tortillas and bring pork rinds for salsa, bacon and eggs with tomato, or an omelet if the establishment uses real eggs with no pancake batter.

I can’t tell you that eating minimally processed foods is easy because it’s not. It takes more time to grill a pork chop than it does to nuke a hot pocket, but sometimes taking a bit of time can help one to learn new habits and maybe lose a little weight along the way. Besides, what’s the worst that could happen?

 

3 thoughts on “I’ll take the long answer, please

  1. This may be an older post, but it still helps. As a beginning T2D, just reading your list makes me feel like I can do this, too!! Thanks.

    • The beginning is the hardest part, using our meters to figure out what works with us and what works against us.

      A lot of times people look at the low carb way of life as “no carb”, they think we just eat meat I guess, but with the exception of white potatoes and in the beginning sweet potatoes, I’m still eating the same vegetables I always ate, there’s still plenty of variety left.

      It is admirable that you are doing something about your diagnosis, rather than accepting that it is a progressive disease, and thinking there is nothing you can do. I wish you the best of luck in your journey and offer one bit of advice, use your meter as your guide and you will never go wrong.

      Stay strong, and keep fighting the good fight.

  2. Pingback: Random Tuesday | War On Diabetes

Feel free to comment

