Why Low Carb?

I get asked that question a lot. It’s usually preceded by “How’d you lose all that weight?” or “What do you eat?”.

It happens more this time of year because it’s pert near almost swim suit season. It’s hot outside, people tend to wear less clothing while they worry more about how they look to others. In reality, losing weight just so you don’t have to worry about what other people think about how you look in the summer is setting yourself up for failure.

Believe me when I tell you that there are people in this world who live for finding fault in others. Lose some weight and you’ll see what I’m talking about. When they can’t make a snide comment about the weight, they’re all up in your “bad hair day”, but I digress, this is a story about why low carb.

I never really tried another weight loss program in my adult life, yeah, there was the Diabetic cookbook and recommendations of a low fat, low protein, all things in moderation, lots of heart healthy whole grains, run on sentence of a train wreck that achieved quite the opposite of intention, but it wasn’t really a “weight loss plan”.

I know me. I know that if I had to go on a diet, I would fail. I did not want a diet. I was in denial about my weight to begin with, I didn’t need no stinkin’ diet. (Let me know if you get tired of me re-hashing that, I realize it’s been part of many of my posts) I didn’t want to exercise either, exercise hurt, it left me winded, depressed because I couldn’t even do a sit up, much less ten. My doc told me that if I would just cut the carbs (sugar, grains, starches) that my blood sugars would improve, that I would lose weight as a side effect, and that one day I would want to exercise.

While a good many of the people doing the same thing I was doing would become discouraged two weeks in because they had only lost ten of the potential fifteen, I was like “Daggum! Six pounds in two weeks? I’m not even trying to lose weight!”

In hind sight, I realize that I was fat, not just fat, morbidly obese. I know that wearing a size 24 that I was pretty big, but I just didn’t see it at the time. I thought I was ok. Well, except for all the finger pricking and medications, other than that, I was fine. I didn’t care what people thought because they pretty much ignored me, I had an invisibility cloak and no reason to want anything different.

By the time my doctor took me off the last of my medications (simvastatin, lisinorpril hctz, metformin, ranitidine, glipizide, and starlix), I had lost close to fifty pounds. I had dropped to a size 18 and run out of diversions from the weight loss aspect. This was in January of 2012, about nine months into my journey.

I was left with my weight and my hair to fix. My weight tried to become an obsession, I would become discouraged with each weigh in. I had forgotten that for the first nine months I weighed in just to see the “side effects” of getting my blood sugar under control. Because the weight just “fell off” in the beginning, I guess I kind of took it for granted. I started over-thinking, I started wondering what I was doing wrong.

The thing is though, over-thinking is a problem in and of itself. When I no longer had T2D running my life, I needed something else to focus on and the scale was there. I started worrying that maybe I was eating too much protein or not enough leafy greens or this or that. I had forgotten “Why Low Carb?” all together.

I chose low carb because my doc told me it wasn’t a diet. I chose low carb because my doc told me that weight loss would be a side effect, not my goal. I chose low carb because I could eat anything my heart desired except for sugar, grains, and starches. I chose low carb because I did not have to count my calories or assign points to my meals. I chose low carb because it “not working” was the worst that could happen.

 

2 thoughts on “Why Low Carb?

  1. You are about a year ahead of me in the low carb path, except my cardiologist told me to follow the Mediterranean Diet so I’m combining both. Blood sugars dropped below 100 & once in the high 80s, causing me to do quite a few happy dances. Oh yeah.. bad cholesterol (LDL) dropped 35% and 30 lb. came off as well – within 4 mo. of really great meals & snacks. I am NEVER hungry! Now, I am testing what daily exercise will do to lab results in Sept. If results are as good or better than in June, my Internist agreed I can go off all meds for 3 mo. to see if these good results continue. If so, in December I will be off diabetic & cholesterol meds permanently. I went dancing last night for the 1st time in about 10 years & it sure felt good! Best of luck in your new life style. Hugs ~ Moms

    • That is really awesome! Your weight loss is amazing too!

      I had always been in the “I hate exercise” camp. One day I just started doing something. I’m not sure what role the addition of exercise did in my labs, but it makes me stronger, feel better, and have more energy. The downside is that exercise is not really good from the scale’s point of view. The bonus though is that the tape measure loves exercise!!!

      I wish you the best in your journey, have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

