Frugal Friday: Workout edition

A couple Fridays ago I thought it would be fun to have a Frugal Friday post. Today, I would like to talk about how to be frugal and still get a good workout. There are people in this world that will tell you it’s not a workout unless you (enter crossfit, hitting the gym, Jillian Michaels DVDs, etc), but seriously, if you are doing nothing at the moment, anything better than nothing is something.

I’ve told you before that I really enjoy Mark Sisson’s “A Fitness Plan So Easy a Caveman Did It”. You don’t need a gym membership, you don’t have to buy a DVD, and right there on the page, Mark gives instructions on how to download the e-book if you are so inclined.

Without going back and reading all sixty-something of my posts, I can’t honestly tell you if I already told you about how one of the great things about a LCHF WOE (Way Of Eating) is that you can actually lose weight without exercising. If I haven’t already, I just did. It’s true, in the beginning, I was really too heavy to exercise. I had to lose around 30 pounds just to get to the point where I had not only the energy to exercise, but the ability to get up from the floor when I got on the floor.

I have told you that by changing over to whole foods, cutting out sugar and starches there is the super awesome side effect of weight loss. It’s a great thing, it helps us to see that weight loss does not have to be all about calorie counting and portion control. When we eat the right things, stop the habit eating, we tend to eat less by proxy. When we put optimal fuel in our engines, our bodies run better and we are able to tap into our fat stores for energy, rather than tap into them to store more.

I guess what I am trying to say is that I really can’t over-emphasize the importance of finding some type of exercise/movement that you enjoy and just do it. Eating enough protein helps to keep our lean mass as we lose fat, but protein can really only do so much. It’s important to give our muscle mass a bit of “stress” so that it can build up a bit. In other words, don’t wait until you’ve lost all the weight to begin doing something. While exercise does not really make the scale go down (my n=1), it does make one feel good and if done right it makes us stronger.

In case you are not ready for squats, sprints, and other primalesque workout type exercises, I will tell you about some really easy things that I started with.

1. Canned veggies: Use in place of hand weights while sitting. Curls, triceps kick backs, skull crushers, just do what you can do. Pretty soon you’ll be hitting the fitness aisle at Walmart for some dumb bells. Work your way up, don’t worry about bulking up ladies, we are not made for it. If you are still worried, come a little closer so I can thump you on the noggin.

2. Stable bike pedals: I picked them up at a yard sale for $5.00, but you can find some at Walmart. I used to pedal through “Survivor” when I was too big for a “real” workout (back when I thought there was a such thing, any work out is real…) If you have a desk job, you can keep one of these under your desk and work out while you work.

3. A pedometer*: You might already have one or three of these that you got (or your mom got) from a health fair, until you let the grandkids play with it. The good news is even if you’ve lost the ones you had, you can get a new one. (I know this may be starting to sound like a Walmart commercial, but when you live in a small town like us, it’s really the closest option.) In this day and age you are not limited to Walmart, you can get really neat gadgets in lots of price ranges that hook up with your phone or computer. It doesn’t matter really how much you spend on one, just get one and wear it. I’ve found that just wearing my pedometer makes me walk more.

*I really can’t mention the pedometer without telling you my secret to upping my steps. Dance Walking. I know, I know, people will look, maybe they will giggle, but it is a great way to up your steps. Thanks to my husband, I now have Pandora on my phone and have music that’s not just in my head (giggle) to make people think I’m not a loon.

If you’re not ready to dance walk in public, you can dance walk in the house. You may feel a bit silly, but when you realize you really enjoy it, you will think the people who aren’t dance walking are the silly ones. (kidding, silly is fun, fun is laughter, and it is well known that laughter decreases cortisol and stress…)

Still not convinced to break out of the norm and try silly on for a change, I will explain it to you how I explained my 6912 steps to my husband last night. Do not walk simply from point A to point B. Let’s say it is four steps from point A to point B. If you take two steps forward, two steps back, step to the left, step to the right, step forward, step back, two steps left, two steps right, four steps forward, your steps have multiplied the original four steps by four and achieved sixteen steps, SCORE!

On that note, I’m going to see if I can transform the ten steps to the bed into forty steps. It’s day six of my cold, I’m supposed to be resting (husband’s orders just like yesterday, the whole reason I had to explain my 6912 steps…). I’m up to 994 steps so far this morning just from zig-zagging it to refill my coffee, and he’ll be home for lunch.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Frugal Friday: Workout edition

  1. I so agree with your post. Move. Just move. The other thing is Just Do It (I didn’t think of this first, but I wish I had). Once I saw some stupid list of the laziest countries in the world – guess what, lazy was defined as “not going to the gym.” Whoever came up with that list should be made to run around Lake Tahoe 100 times.

    • Sounds like a definition that a gym would make up! Really, I don’t have anything against gyms, it’s just that the cost of gyms and other things sometimes end up being an excuse not to move. Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

