How to have your cake and eat it, too :)

Today is my Baby Bear’s birthday. She is a teenager now. I told her last night that she could open a few gifts before school on the condition that she woke up before her dad left for work. We figured she’d come dragging in the den in the last 5 minutes. To our surprise,  I walked past her room at 5:35 am and she said “What time is it?”.

It’s funny how most school mornings she doesn’t get up until the third or fourth time I wake her, but not this morning. For this reason alone, it would be nice if all school mornings were her birthday!

I wanted to make her a special breakfast this morning. She would have really liked it because in my head it sounded really good. In theory, it should have worked quite nicely as an extra special birthday breakfast, but she wanted an omelet. Cajun cheddar curds, buffalo cheddar curds, mozzarella, and bacon omelet to be precise. Since it is her birthday she got it. It looked and smelled really good. I’m sure it was tasty because she ate it. 

015

“Mom, are you seriously going to take my pic all the way in the school?” “Why yes, yes I am” click, click honk honk… the other parents just didn’t understand…

As with all birthdays, at some point, cake is involved. For the most part, cake is a concoction of sugar, flour, eggs, and oil, topped with more sugar. Since I am Type 2 Diabetic, it is not really in my best interest to eat cake. Yeah, people tell me “oh just a slice of birthday cake won’t hurt ya! Here, taste it, it’s like a little bite of Heaven”. Since kicking Denial and Justification to the curb, I know that yes, a slice would hurt me and I’m not lookin’ to get to Heaven (or the grave in any shape form or fashion) in the immediate future anyways.

Ever since I ditched sugar and starches, I’ve liked birthdays and holidays for experimentin’.  I’ve made coconut flour cakes and cupcakes, almond flour cupcakes, assorted muffins with coconut flour and/or almond flour, and cheesecakes. Out of all the experiments, the wildest had to be cheesecake. This past Christmas my siblings and I decided we were going to have a “home made Christmas”, so I made cheesecakes. Eight different kinds, a couple of crazy concoctions, but those are for another day.

Today’s recipe is Chocolate Chip Cheesecake. It is almost sugar free. It can be even more  sugar free if you opt to use sugar free chocolate chips. Sugar free chocolate chips contain maltitol, so I can not use them. If maltitol has no affect on your blood sugar or your digestive system, feel free to use them.

011

I love that cookbook, it’s for recording one’s own recipes.

Crust ingredients: 1 recipe Grain Free Chocolate Chip Cookies (because I managed to hide a batch), crushed. Or combine 1 egg, 1 cup almond flour, 1/2 cup splenda, and 2 T melted butter. Which ever option, press into the bottom of an 8″ springform pan that has been buttered. When opting for option 2, preheat oven to 350°, bake crust for 12 minutes, let cool.

025

I thawed the cookies and put them in the food processor then squished them into a buttered 8″ springform pan.

Cheesecake ingredients: 3 – 8oz pkg cream cheese, 2 t vanilla, 1/2 c sour cream,         2 c Splenda granulated, 4 eggs (I have 5 pictured because they are medium and small. At Christmas, my hens were on strike and I used large eggs from the grocery), 1 c dark chocolate chips.

If you’ve ever made cheesecake, you know to let your ingredients come to room temperature, if this is your first attempt at making cheesecake, room temperature ingredients are very important to the success of the recipe.

Step 1: In a large mixing bowl add cream cheese, vanilla, sour cream, and splenda. I use a stand mixer with the paddle attachment. Start out at stir because you do not want a face full of splenda dust. Kick it up to 4 for a few seconds, scrape down sides, and mix some more. (you really can’t over-mix it at this point)

017

It will look similar to frosting when it is mixed well enough.

Remove paddle and bowl from mixer. Scrape down paddle and sides. You will be tempted to finish this recipe with the mixer, but fight your temptation and grab a wooden spoon for the rest of the adventure.

Step 2: Preheat your oven to 350°. Crack one egg into your cheesecake mixture. Stir it in with a wooden spoon. When it is stirred in, scrape down the sides and follow with another egg in the same manner. I have long since forgotten why this step is so important, but it is important and that is what matters.

019

Step 3: Scrape down sides and stir in chocolate chips.

022

Step 4: Pour into prepared encrusted springform pan and place on a big baking sheet. Place onto the middle rack in the middle of your preheated oven. Cheesecakes tend to rise over the pan like souffle, so make sure your top rack is either moved to the bottom or taken out all together.

031

Some of you might be screaming at the monitor, what about the water bath*? Yes, there are many people who use the water bath method for cheesecake. If you are a water bath person, feel free to use that method. My normal method is to fill a glass lasagna dish half full of water and place it on the lower rack because that is how I learned. Maybe I learned before someone invented the water bath method, who knows? Regardless, being left to my own devices, playing both cameraman and cook, typing in between, I left my dish of water on the counter. I am destined to have a cracked cheesecake, but I dare not open the oven at this point. Besides, cracked cheesecake is better than no cheesecake, right?

*For information about water bath and cheesecake, let me google that for you.

I bake my cheesecakes for one hour. When the timer goes off I turn off the oven. I let the cheesecakes cool in the closed oven for a few hours before opening the door*. After that, I remove the ring and transfer the cheesecake from pan to cake circle and refrigerate. When wrapped securely, cheesecakes freeze well.

*If you decide to cool your cheesecake in the oven, reduce the temperature to 325° after placing cheesecake in 350° oven and closing the door. Bake for 1 hour, turn off oven and leave door closed.

I leave you today with a photo of a finished chocolate chip cheesecake because my oven door will not be opened for at least another three and a half hours. The cheesecake on the left is one of my crazy concoctions, Watergate Cheesecake. I will give you the recipe some time because it is really really good. Because there are some pineapples in the recipe, it has a higher sugar content than the recipe I am giving you today.

watergate and chocolate chip cheesecakeLike with all new to you recipes, it is a good idea to test your blood sugar prior to and one hour and two hours after consuming to determine how each new to you recipe works in your fight against type 2 diabetes.

3 thoughts on “How to have your cake and eat it, too :)

  1. Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Reading
    through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward
    this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for putting up your recipe. I’ve been studying it, as I love cheesecake. I collect cheesecake recipes as I keep perfecting my NY cheesecake. I usually make my cheesecake with regular sugar – although far far less than what recipes call for. Now I’m planning to replace sugar with other sweeteners and I might start with your recipe. I read the next blog entry – I hope you are feeling better.

Feel free to comment

