Coconut oil, Green tea, and that barbecue sauce I mentioned yesterday…

Good Thursday morning. It is a very nice sunshiny morning here in northern middle Tennessee. The roosters have finished crowing for a bit and after I finish this fourth cup of coffee, I will be ready to start my day.

Ok, seriously, I’ve been up since 5:30 am, fixed breakfast for Michael and May, took May to school and have been reading posts, articles, blogs and such as I enjoy my cup of coffee that just happens to have a teaspoon of coconut oil floating on top.

I really like coconut oil. I like it in my coffee. I have to tell you that I like it so that you will understand that I have nothing against coconut oil. My problem is with all the ads and such I’ve seen in various places touting fast weight loss with coconut oil. Being an MCT, it is easily metabolized for energy, which is a good thing and a bad thing. While I like coconut oil on my skin, in my hair, on my nails, and in my coffee coconut oil can not be stored, it must be used. Other things, like starches, sugars (carbs) can be stored, so it makes me really think that no matter how much coconut oil one consumes, it can’t undo bad food choices.

Sometimes I like green tea. Sometimes I put a teaspoon of coconut oil in my green tea. While I do believe that green tea is really good for me, I do not believe that green tea is the secret to weight loss either. (I’m thinking today may be a lucky day because it is the first in many that I’ve not seen an ad for raspberry ketones or the gospel according to “Oz”)

It’s like this, there really is no secret to weight loss. There is a lot of information out there ranging from the “hey that might work” to “well, might as well, it’s only $19.95 plus shipping”. (I’ve got to tell you that in my experience one is better off saving the cash and opting for the boundless supply of free information and reviews by real people). Anyways, the best ever “hey that might work” free information that had really good reviews was this:

Just eat real food…

On that note… here’s the recipe for the barbecue sauce I showed you yesterday…

3 T butter,  1 c apple cider vinegar,  3/4 c ketchup (the kind with no high fructose corn syrup, the low carb ketchup has a bad after-taste, besides you are not going to eat the entire batch of sauce…),  3 T Barvarian Sweet Mustard (Aldi has it this month, pick up a jar of the herb mustard for the heck of it. If you have no Aldi get some sweet whole grain mustard or spicy mustard),  2 t onion powder, 2 t garlic powder, 1 t paprika, 1/8 t cinnamon, 1/8 t unsweetened cocoa powder, 12 grinds black pepper, 1 T Louisiana hot sauce, 1 shot Green apple vodka, 3/4 c water.

In a medium saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Whisk in all other ingredients.  Increase temperature to medium high and bring to a boil, whisking often. Reduce heat to low and let simmer for a couple to few hours. I like to taste it about an hour in to see if it needs any more spice or heat, or vodka (kidding). I do need to tell you that apple cider vinegar has a potent smell that can take one’s breath. Do not sniff while tasting, it’s still pretty potent an hour in.

Cover the sauce as it simmers, making sure to check on it and whisk it every half to quarter hour. (a good time to dance in the kitchen between the whisking) The sauce is ready when it has thickened, reduced by about half. Let it cool a bit and pour it into a clean mason jar. This recipe made a little more than a pint.

Having 2 tablespoons over pulled pork with stewed okra and tomatoes did not impact my postprandial reading in a negative way. I would advise that if you are T2 like me that you test your blood sugar prior to and after consuming any new to you foods/recipes.

004

 

 

 

 

Feel free to comment

