Grain free chocolate chip cookies

This one is special, it has no honey, agave, molasses, or brown sugar like most cookies, even grain free. While they are “gluten free”, they are not made with starchy replacements like soy, tapioca, or potato starch instead of wheat flour. As long as I don’t eat the whole batch, these do not spike my blood sugar. If you are diabetic like me, it would be a good idea to check your blood sugar prior to eating a couple of cookies and an hour and two after to see how they work with you.

These are some cookies that I wouldn’t feel guilty feeding to my grand daughters.

Start by gathering your ingredients as listed in the picture below:

006

4 oz cream cheese, 4 oz peanut butter*, 3/4 c splenda, 1/4 c almond meal, 1/4 c pecan meal**, 1/2 c dark chocolate chips, 2 small eggs***

*Use natural peanut butter or the brand that has no high fructose corn syrup. **If you can not find pecan meal, you can place chopped pecans in a freezer bag and roll over with a rolling pin, or just use extra almond meal. ***The hens had small eggs today, so I used them. If you only have large, use one egg.

Preheat oven to 350°.

007

Combine all ingredients except for chocolate chips and eggs. The dough will be dry and sturdy.

009

Once your first ingredients are mixed well, mix in the eggs.

010

The cookie dough after mixing in the eggs.

013

Mix in dark chocolate chips.

014

Drop by scoop or teaspoon onto parchment paper or silpat lined baking sheet.

015

I used a fork and tried to make them pretty, but the dough is sticky and at least they are mashed 🙂

Place your cookies into the oven that you preheated to 350°. Set your timer for 14 minutes. Remove them from the oven, but let them cool on the pan.

018

I just let them cool on top of the stove.

021

This is a cooled off cookie. I would have taken a picture of the hot cookie I was holding just prior but it burned my fingers and I ate it 🙂

023

This recipe made 22 cookies. They turned out really tasty, so much so that they are in the freezer to at least slow down temptation!

I really hope you enjoy the cookies, I fed some to Michael and he liked them. He didn’t even complain about them “fake cookies” (meaning no sugar/flour lol). I think they would be good without chocolate chips also, maybe a little cinnamon? Who knows, try them, mix it up a bit, and let me know how they turn out.

 

4 thoughts on “Grain free chocolate chip cookies

  1. Pingback: How to have your cake and eat it, too :) | mydiabetesandme

  2. Those look good. And here I was thinking I might make some cookies the “old fashioned way”. I will try yours instead, but not say anyting until they’ve been eaten. LOL.

    • They are a bit heavier than traditional cookies, but the taste was there, not crunchy, more like those “soft batch” type, only not really because they don’t have a play-dough texture lol.

Feel free to comment

