Pasta smasta, Zughetti and Meatballs…yum

Or should I say “Spaghetti Three Ways” with meatballs?

010

The good, the bad, and the ugly…

I used to be a big fan of pasta until I saw what it did to my blood sugar. Lucky for me, my husband is not a fan of pasta. He used to deal with spaghetti and meatballs once a week because I would cook it. When I told him I couldn’t have pasta anymore, he was probably thinking “Thank Goodness!!!

Mondays are usually reserved for meatloaf, but meatballs are just mini round meatloaves anyways.

For today’s spaghetti and meatballs, I made regular pasta for my husband, tofu shirataki noodles for my daughter, and used zucchini for my “pasta”.

Meatballs: 1 pound ground beef (I used chuck tonight because it was on sale), 1/2 c grated parmesan (the kind in the can), 2 eggs (mine are medium out of the back yard, if you have extra large eggs, just use one), 1/2 t garlic powder, 1/2 t onion powder, 8 grinds fresh cracked pepper.

In a large bowl combine eggs, seasonings, and parmesan, mix well. Glove up and mix in meat. I use a cookie scoop to portion out meatballs onto a large lined tray. After they are all portioned, I roll them up. My hands were dirty, so no pics of that, but these are the meatballs after baking at 375° for 20 minutes…

011

The meatballs really are the best part.

Sauce: 1 medium onion diced, 1 T minced onion (dehydrated, optional), 1 can diced tomatoes, 2 T tomato paste, 1 t garlic powder, 1 t onion powder, 1/2 t basil, 1/2 t thyme, 1/8 t cinnamon, 2 mini sweet peppers, chopped, 1 t parsley, 3 c water, and 1 T bacon grease.

In a large dutch oven, turned on medium heat, add bacon grease. Swish it around the bottom of the pan and add onions and peppers.

001

You want to saute the onions and peppers until the onions are translucent. It’s ok if you end up caramelizing them a bit.

When your onions and peppers are similar to the picture above, stir in the tomato paste. Then stir in the can of diced tomatoes (I used the Italian seasoned diced tomatoes because that is what I had on hand). Stir in water and seasonings. Simmer over medium heat about 10 minutes, it will start to thicken, turn it down to low, and add meatballs.

012

The best thing about bread crumb free meatballs is that they don’t fall apart all in the sauce…

Cover the sauce and leave it on low.

003

Using a sharp knife, slice your zucchini lengthwise and then slice each slice into strips.

One small zucchini was enough for me. After slicing, grease a cooking dish. I used olive oil, but you could use what ever you want. Place the strips onto the dish and brush them with olive oil, then salt and pepper them. Place them in a 350° oven for 15 minutes.

014

Zucchini “pasta” straight out of the oven.

Scoop the zucchini out of the dish and onto a plate. Top with the meatballs and sauce, add some parmesan or feta, and eat it. Your taste buds, your belly, and your blood sugar will thank you for taking the extra time to use such an awesome vegetable in the place of that blood sugar spiking pasta. (And yeah, I think protected carbs and net carbs are descendants of the unicorns…)

023

This was my plate. I had a half a jar of Italian mushrooms in the fridge, so I sliced them up and added them to the sauce.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pasta smasta, Zughetti and Meatballs…yum

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Sausage Balls | mydiabetesandme

Feel free to comment

