Just maybe it’s what we eat the most of…

Up until recent months (I’ve forgotten how many) I had never weighed less than my husband. Even thinking back to the summer of ’69 when I came into this world a bouncing baby girl weighing in at 8 pounds 10 1/2 ounces, two and a half years prior to his birth. Starting my life as a big baby and continuing on that path has me convinced that even as children it makes sense that I most likely out weighed him.

IMG_20130403_080254

This is me in 1971, I had a good head start as far as outweighing my husband!

He has never been obese, so me cutting bread and sugar out of our evening meals was more for my survival than his. During the week I fix his breakfasts “to-go”, so the temptation of his biscuits or hash browns are never tempting when I dine on my bacon and eggs after sending everyone off for the day. Temptation at lunch on weekdays is limited to rainy days when he usually stays home. The thing is that dinner is a constant. I cook dinner almost every night. I don’t know if I would have made it this far if I had continued to fry fish weekly and serve bread every night.

For a long time he would ask “where’s the rolls?”. In conversation he would tell me that I was the one on a diet. There came a time in my journey when my husband quit complaining about the lack of bread at dinner time. It was around that time that he also stopped asking for his favorite ice cream when I’d go to the grocery.

I thought that he was just used to the new dinners, but no, it was because I caught him. I didn’t realize it until I was so excited about a new “all time low” and showed him the scale. He in turn weighed in and we were scale twins.

A funny thing started happening in the afternoons when he would get home from work. I would see him tossing his breakfast left overs to the dog. He told me he didn’t have time to finish, but I think it was the scale.

He’s adjusted pretty well to me weighing less than him. In his adjustment, he has lost 20 pounds. He tells me he’s wasting away to nothing, but he’s not really. He’s lost most of his belly, while it wasn’t huge, it looks more like it did before I started cooking him those dinners with bread and dessert most every night.

It’s been more than 40 years since dietary fat was proclaimed villainous. In those 40 plus years there has been an all out war proclaimed on this evil villain that is fat. During this time, we the people have worked hard to avoid fats by purchasing boneless skinless chicken, skim milk, processed foods in boxes, bags, or jars because they are low fat, and upped our consumption of “heart healthy whole grains”.

During our vigilant war on dietary fats, we have not only increased the demand for low fat processed foods, but we’ve increased our waistlines. Recommended amounts of protein have been lowered because “everyone knows red meat causes (enter what ever bs you’ve heard or read here)”. We are a nation who thinks nothing of eating a 2 ounce portion of protein with 8 ounces of processed mostly starch and sugar what ever. We bake it, so it’s healthy. We’ve cut the fat in our diet, but it’s ok because if our bodies don’t eat it, they produce it.

It sickens me that in the past decades we can’t see that just maybe it’s what we eat the most of that is actually making us fat. It’s hard to believe it is the 2 ounces of ground beef that is the villain when it is half the amount of the bun. We are still stuck in an age where calories tend to be the end all in weight loss. What we don’t see is that all calories are not created equal. For some of us we see that the most nutrient dense calories in the form of real whole foods are the key to weight loss.

If my husband and I were to go toe to toe in a game of calorie tally, one would assume I surely still out weigh him. I probably eat 500 calories more than him on an average. I lost 80 pounds and 7 sizes eating between 1800 and 2500 calories daily. Looking at my food journals one would think I was trying to bulk up. A closer look at my food journals would show that the thing I always ate the most of (bread, pasta, low fat yogurt, etc) is missing.

Replacing the things that once spiked my blood sugar, causing insulin to help me store my fat because I wasn’t eating any fat, made my body burn fat. Getting over my fear of fat (from natural sources ie meat, coconut, olive) changed my life. Don’t get the wrong idea, I do not support deep fried twinkies or french fries, but there is nothing to fear from a nice nutrient dense hunk of beef.

Another great thing about beef (or chicken or pork) is that it doesn’t spike my blood sugar. I had always blindly followed the whole low fat recommendations. In testing my blood sugar in the past, I truly believed it was the fat of the meat. I never dreamed it would have been such a benign dinner roll or baked potato. Common sense should have shown me back then that it wasn’t what I was eating the least of…

imagejpeg_2_49

My daughter took this picture one night when we were eating out. This is probably the look I had on my face when I tested my blood sugar after not eating what I used to eat the most of.

One thought on “Just maybe it’s what we eat the most of…

  1. Wow well written! I agree whole heatedly. I grew up in a house where we ate meat and carbs in abundance and veggies on the side. I’ve had to learn to cut back on both the meat and carbs and I’m really trying to eat more veggies!

    I also think of the war on soda pop with governments everywhere trying to get it out of schools and to regulate sizes available. But the truth is we have to look at what it is that makes us far and in most cases it’s as much simple carbs and starches as it is sugary drinks. We can’t ban potatoes or dinner rolls so we have to look at choices and alternatives.

    Great post!

Feel free to comment

