2 day zucchini lasagna (yeah, it’s worth it)

If you are working on getting processed foods out of your diet a food dehydrator can be a good investment. After several soggy attempts at replacing my lasagna noodles with zucchini, I realized that my dehydrator wasn’t just for jerky.

The lasagna doesn’t have to take 2 days if you get an early start and have enough dehydrator trays…

Day 1: Gather, wash, and thinly slice lengthwise about 4 pounds of zucchini. (about 1/8″ thick, no thicker than 1/4″) If you want to, peel it, the choice is yours. I have peeled it and not peeled it and have no preference. If you would rather get your fiber from nature than a bottle, don’t peel it. Place it on your trays and turn it on. Refer to your owner’s manual for suggested time and temperature.

zucchini lasagna noodles

No one noticed it wasn’t peeled.

I like to check my zucchini slices every hour or so. The slices are not all exactly the same and some pieces are ready before others. I also like to turn my slices about 2-3 hours in. That way I can move the drier pieces that have shrunk up more to one tray and re-load a tray. (4 pounds is a lot of zucchini slices!)

zucchini lasagna noodles2

This is some that I did peel. This is also the point in which I flipped the slices and consolidated my space.

While your zucchini is dehydrating, you can go ahead and make the sauce. I make a nice tomato sauce with ground beef, tomatoes, tomato paste, celery, onions, bell peppers, oregano, parsley, salt, pepper, and garlic. Your favorite sauce will work just fine. Let it cool and refrigerate if you will be preparing the lasagna the following day.

When the zucchini is finished dehydrating you can put it in an air tight container until day 2  (make sure it is completely cooled or condensation will partially re-hydrate it) or if you have time, go ahead and finish the recipe.

Day 2: Preheat oven to 350°. Grease your dish. I use a 9″ x 9″ casserole dish. Spoon some of the meat sauce mixture into the bottom. Top with a layer of dehydrated zucchini. You only need to overlap to cover empty space, one layer is sufficient.

For the cheese filling I combine 1 16 oz tub of cottage cheese, 1 c shredded mozzarella cheese, 1/2 c shredded parmesan cheese, 2 eggs and a few sprigs of chopped parsley. Mix well. Spread over the dehydrated zucchini. I like a thick layer of cheesy goodness, so I dump it all in the middle and spread it out. Top cheese mixture with more mozzarella, about 1/2 c shredded. Add another layer of dehydrated zucchini and top with more meat sauce. Generously top with more mozzarella and grated parmesan cheese.

Cover your lasagna with foil, loosely if you must to keep the foil off the cheese. Place your lasagna onto a cookie sheet and into the oven. Bake for 45 minutes. Remove foil and bake an additional 15 minutes or until top is browned.

zucchini lasagna2

The finished zucchini lasagna. I like to let it rest about 10 minutes before cutting with a sharp knife.

zucchini lasagna

A cut slice of zucchini lasagna.

Once everyone is served and the left overs have cooled off, place individual portions in freezer bags for future lunches.

 

6 thoughts on “2 day zucchini lasagna (yeah, it’s worth it)

  1. This is such a great idea!!!!! But I have no dehydrator :(. I have made zucchini lasagna before and my family liked it, but it seems like this would be much more authentic.

  2. This sounds delicious. I too am diabetic, and need to eat better than I am. Makes me wish I had a dehydrator. I guess I could do it in the oven, like you’d do beef jerky. But what temp, I wonder, and for how long?

    • Hi Pam, I would go with the lowest oven setting (my lowest is 200), and check it ever so often. If you have an oven jerky recipe, the cooking temp/technique should work nicely for the zucchini also, maybe take a little less time. Have a nice day 🙂

Feel free to comment

