Low carb Tomato pie

In the old days, I used to make tomato pie for breakfast every now and then on the weekend. Since cutting out grains, sugar and most processed foods, I haven’t really thought about pie, except for around the holidays and need a sugar free wheat free dessert.

Today while cleaning out the freezer and fridge for the pigs, I thought about pie. I had gotten some nice vine ripe tomatoes and still had 4 left. It was going to be a busy day, I was IFing today, so tomato pie with breakfast for dinner sounded like a great idea.

024

Step 1: I had 4 medium tomatoes, sliced 1/4″ thick. Salt and pepper them and let them drain onto paper towels or clean hand towels. (2 hours was not enough time for mine, so maybe try 4 hours)

Step 2: the crust. Combine 1/4c coconut flour, sifted and 1T Parmesan cheese in a small bowl. Whisk 3 eggs (our chickens lay medium eggs, if using large or ex-large, use 2) and 4T melted butter into a medium bowl. Whisk the coconut flour/Parmesan into your egg/butter mixture.

IMG_20130319_141256

Coconut flour soaks up a lot of moisture. This is how it looks after mixing and waiting a few moments. The texture reminds me of grits or polenta.

Brush a pie pan with butter, olive oil, or your preferred slicking agent. Preheat your oven to 350°. I prefer to just scoop it all in at once and press it as much as I can with the spatula. It’s quite sticky so use gloves and mash it around with your hands to get it up the sides and even on the bottom.

IMG_20130319_141522

I spread it out with the spatula, but to get up the sides and get it thin enough use your hands or a metal spoon.

Since my husband can taste coconut 47 miles away, I opted to sprinkle the crust with more Parmesan and some pepper, who knows if he doesn’t notice the coconut, maybe he’ll get a deep dish pizza in the future.

New_1_022

Step 3: Take your finished pie crust and put it in your preheated oven for about 7-10 minutes. You don’t want it browned, just a little firm.

Step 4: Combine 3/4c mayo, 1/2c chopped onion, 4 slices chopped cooked thick cut bacon, 1/2c shredded cheddar cheese, and your seasoning of choice (I use salt and pepper) and mix well.

Once your crust has been baked a bit and cooled, it is time for step 5: Place tomatoes in the bottom of the crust, overlapping so that there isn’t empty space. If you turned off your oven after step 3, turn it back on to 350° so that it will be preheated for baking the pie.

New_1_025

Step 6: take the mayo mixture and spread it all over the tomatoes.

New_1_026

This is the tomato pie ready to bake. Notice that there are a couple places where you can see the tomatoes, that is ok. The topping will melt around them.

Step 7: Place finished pie into the preheated 350° oven. I like to check it after 20 minutes, and usually end up letting it go an extra 10 minutes.

New_1_029

The finished tomato pie. I let it rest prior to cutting for a few minutes.

The pie ended up a little damp, hence the comment on the tomato picture about increasing the draining time. Had I had more time yesterday morning, I would have prepped the tomatoes and let them drain in the fridge while I was out all day. Another option would be once you’ve sliced them and you have them on your blotter of choice, sprinkle them with dehydrated onion flakes, they will soak up some of the excess moisture and you can skip the tears sometimes associated with chopping fresh onions for step 4.

The verdict: May loved it so much, she had a slice for breakfast before school this morning. I thought it was pretty darned good and didn’t taste coconut until I tried a bit of the side crust. (note to self, pepper and Parm the sides too lol) My husband ate his slice, he liked it. He didn’t taste the coconut until the end of his slice, when he got to the side crust. He asked “Is this fake crust?” I said “no, eggs, butter, flour”. Being the smart cookie he is he said “coconut flour?” Yep, he got me, but he still may get a coconut flour deep dish pizza in the future. My fingers are crossed though that when that day comes he doesn’t eat it crust first!

New_1_034

I had my tomato pie with jowl bacon and scrambled eggs. First time trying jowl bacon. It was pretty tasty.

In the end, this new tomato pie was just as tasty as the old tomato pie I used to make with pre-made pie crust from our grocer’s freezer section. The coconut flour crust is different, it’s not flaky like regular pie crust, but it’s also not filled with things that make me bloated and it did not spike my blood sugar. It did take more time than the old way, but since diabetes is no longer in the driver’s seat, I have time to take more time when it comes to feeding my family.

I leave you today with a picture of our oldest granddaughter laughing and having a blast yesterday when we went to Scottsville for horse, pig, and goat feed. In the past couple of years I’ve learned a lot from my grandchildren. Through their eyes, I’ve learned that I’m not too old to run, jump, laugh, play, and dance. After we went to market, we went to the bank. We danced in the parking lot while waiting form my sister/her aunt to finish her business. We didn’t notice the people watching us from the gas station next door until we finished. When we did notice, we just smiled and laughed. The people were smiling too. I really feel that laughter and smiles are contagious, share them often.

020

It was cold and windy, but the sun was shining and we had fun!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Low carb Tomato pie

  1. Pingback: Low carb Tomato pie | Ellen's Low Carb Favorite's

    • Thanks 🙂 Mayonnaise is a labor of love, something that I don’t make very often, not because I don’t enjoy the taste of freshly made, but because it can be time consuming and sometimes it just turns into a mess (like the time I tried a bacon mayo recipe). We don’t use it often (usually for tomato pie, tuna or chicken salad, since I’ve given up ham and cheese on white bread lol)

      That being said, the mayo recipe that I’ve had the most success with comes from a 1962 edition of Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook:
      1 t salt, 1/2 t dry mustard, 1/4 t paprika, dash cayenne, 2 egg yolks, 2 T vinegar, 2 cups salad oil (I used regular olive oil, not extra virgin, it leaves a weird taste), 2 T lemon juice.
      Mix dry ingredients, blend in egg yolks. Add vinegar and mix well. Add oil, 1 teaspoon at a time, beating with rotary or electric beater till 1/4 cup has been added (I use the food processor or wire whip).
      Add remaining oil in increasing amounts, alternating the last 1/2 cup with the lemon juice.
      The last step is “Beat in 1 T hot water to cut oil appearance. (I do not do that) Makes 2 cups.
      This recipe can be halved.

      Adding the oil too fast will result in “not mayo”, so take your time making mayo. Have a great day 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 Normally left overs tend to pile up for the pigs because my husband and our 12 yo “don’t eat left overs”. Looking for a slice for myself this morning I realized that maybe they need to add “unless it’s tomato pie” to their whole “I don’t like left-overs” thing.

Feel free to comment

