Fauxtato Salad

What do you do when you realize you just paid $18.70 a pound for bacon?

5642_615071435174369_249845038_n

They got my attention with BACON, they had me at the $1.00 off coupon…

Never go to the grocery on an empty stomach they say. I wasn’t hungry when we left for the grocery on Monday. The problem came at the fifth store after 2 hours and 5000 steps to find the best deals. Dinner was in the smoker, so what’s a couple girls to do?

We bought bacon jerky. It didn’t really taste like jerky, but it was good. We ate a piece on our way home. We thought it was a good deal at the time, a low carb snack under $3.00 we could share and still have left overs. (It really was a good deal for a nice snack)

When we got home I started thinking about the 3 pound packages of bacon I had purchased for $10.48. That led me back to the 2.5 ounce bag of bacon jerky, my calculator and the realization that I just paid $18.70/pound for bacon!

At first I felt guilty, for someone who is always looking for the best deal I had just had a major splurge! To make it up though, my daughter and I asked ourselves “What do you do when you realize you just spent $18.70/pound for bacon?” The answer was simple, we had gotten a bunch of avocado for $.49 cents each, so we made  Gourmet “Fauxtato Salad” to go with our smoked pork loin and mashed sweet taters.

IMG_20130311_193325

Smoked pork loin, fauxtato salad, and mashed sweet potatoes. When you give up sugar, you find that sweet potatoes are really good on their own. They are almost too sweet for my taste, so I only eat a little bit on occasion.

The first time I made this recipe was because I did not enjoy “fauxtato” salad made with cauliflower. While avocado is not potato either, it does have a better texture in my opinion than cauliflower. It also has a very mild taste whereas even dolled up cauliflower still tastes like cauliflower. Don’t get me wrong, I like cauliflower, just not prepared as “fauxtato” salad.

Step 1: Gather your ingredients. 2 Haas avocado, 1T mayo, 1/4 package ranch powder, 1/4c shredded cheddar, and a small handfull of bacon jerky, torn to bits. (You do not have to use bacon jerky. We used the jerky because we had already bought it. Calling the jerky version gourmet gave us the giggles which made us forget about the whole price per pound thing. If using regular bacon, take a couple slices, chop it, fry it, and let it cool on a paper towel.)

IMG_20130311_184929

In a medium bowl, combine your bacon, cheese, mayo, and ranch powder. Stir well.

Step 2: Dice your avocados. The easiest way I’ve found is to cut the avocado in half. Remove the pit. Slice lengthwise 3-4 times (depending on size), then slice crosswise 4-5 times, making a checkerboard type pattern while still in the skin. Use a spoon to remove diced bits or if it’s soft enough just turn it inside out. Sorry, I did not take a picture of this step. My photographer was doubling as my sous chef dicing avocado while I was taking pictures of the ingredients bowl 🙂

IMG_20130311_185530

Funny how the Gourmet Fauxtato Salad looks a lot like the regular version… Next time I think I’ll toss some chopped red onions in the mix!

Step 3: Add the diced avocado and mix well. We mixed this up right before dinner as the pork loin was resting prior to slicing. We put plastic wrap over the bowl and left it in the fridge for about 10 minutes prior to serving. The avocado did not oxidize in this short amount of time, but if you are making it a little bit ahead of time use a little lemon or lime juice just in case.

I leave you today with a photo of my photographer/sous chef/daughter’s sous chef in training. They were preparing “strawberry kiwi salad” to go with our baby back ribs that evening. They also prepared our dinner salad. Both salads were great, and I can’t help but feel kinda great having 3 generations in the kitchen!

IMG_20130305_145947

Always teach your children first the importance of knife safety, hand washing, and the importance of preventing cross contamination. Never leave children alone to cut fruits or vegetables, always pay close attention. Lovely has been practicing for a couple of years with butter knives before she got her first opportunity to use a real knife.

One thought on “Fauxtato Salad

  1. Pingback: Grilled Red Snapper with Pineapple Salsa | mydiabetesandme

Feel free to comment

