Kids like bacon too

When you have small children or grandchildren, you spend most Saturday mornings watching cartoons. You notice that Saturday morning commercials are not like regular commercials, they are loud, colorful, and play to the minds of small children.

Not long after changing to the lchf/grain free/sugar free lifestyle, our two grand daughters came for an extended visit. The first thing we do when we get to Memaw’s house is to eat breakfast. Imagine that you are a child waiting for your breakfast, when your Memaw comes out of the kitchen with two plates instead of bowls. I really thought they were going to cry!

“Uh, Memaw, where’s our Reeses Puffs?” said the older one. “Memaw doesn’t have Reeses Puffs baby, don’t you like bacon and eggs?” I told her. “Well, my mommy has Reeses Puffs”.

That conversation was nearly two years ago, they were 2 and 3 at the time. They were upset over the lack of cereal until they started eating their bacon and eggs. It didn’t take too long before they quit asking for chips and cereal and asked for things like strawberries, salad, and bacon instead.

602721_608754449139823_294810827_n

Lovely is 5 now, she is playing around with lemons while waiting for her bacon and eggs. She seems happy even without me feeding her cereal and chips.

With children it’s often hard to change what they eat because “they don’t like it” or “we don’t want to force them to eat healthy”. The difficulty is taken away when we rid our homes of unhealthy sugary processed foods. The day of our “first” breakfast we also took a tour of the kitchen, looking for goldfish, cookies, and all the other treats that used to be there.

537732_612025492145630_526258015_n

We didn’t mind getting the girls a lollipop after breakfast. They ate their bacon and eggs, they didn’t eat the jelly biscuit. Besides, the chances of them eating the entire lollipop is slim once they see we have strawberries and kiwi in the fridge.

Sugary processed junk really shouldn’t be called “treats”. It seems to make them seem less harmful than they potentially can be. Don’t get me wrong, there are people in this world who have no problem with sugary snacks, sugary drinks, and sugary dinners (yep, high fructose corn syrup is even in canned soups and other processed “foods”). Not everyone has a problem with sugar, but I’d rather not use my grandchildren as lab rats just to see if sugar will over time get them to where I was when I was taking all the meds and having to shop at Nashville Tent and Awning for my clothing {joking, but I was pretty darned close}.

We still get the girls a lollipop occasionally. We got them a couple of big ones this morning after breakfast. Once they drop them in the carpet or the dog licks them, they’ll trade them to the trash. It took a lot of time and patience to get the girls taste buds to like new things, but it was worth it.

I leave you today with a picture of me from August 2012. I had gone from size 24 to size 12. I didn’t lose any weight that day, but no one ever knew. My 12 yo took this pic and it was the first time I noticed that I do have collar bones!!

404104_504716706209843_1284582399_n

I don’t remember how much weight I had lost up until this photo, I could look it up, but I’m happy just remembering it was the first time in decades I had collar bones!

5 thoughts on “Kids like bacon too

  1. Pingback: Random acts of children… | mydiabetesandme

  2. I hope it’s not odd for one to comment on their own post, but by the time I finished writing, the girls asked if I had any peanut butter hearts (sugar free home made). They have bagged up the sugary lollipops and traded them in for a sugar free treat. I couldn’t be prouder.

Feel free to comment

