Not My Mama’s Meatloaf

Ever since the first time I read an article touting the benefits of a “Meatless Monday”, I’ve striven to provide my family a healthy alternative to a meat free meal on Mondays. See, meat provides us with all kinds of goodies that we just don’t get from plants. For one thing, ground beef has saturated fat.

Saturated fat is one of my favorite things, ever since I learned it is a “non-essential” because my body can make it all by it’s lonesome, I’d rather just eat it than have my body make it grow on my hips and thighs.

Ground beef also provides us with nifty vitamins like B12 and minerals like potassium.

Some people shy away from ground beef because they are scared of cholesterol. I had the opportunity not long ago to participate in a live chat with Dr. Jonny Bowden, co-author of The Great Choletesterol Myth. I asked ” I am more intrigued by Dr. Jonny Bowden’s newer book, “The Great Cholesterol Myth”. Is cholesterol not as bad as my doc wants me to believe?” He replied with “Shannon, cholesterol is the most misunderstood and vilified molecule on the planet, and it is all nonsense. We’ve been totally mislead. Cholesterol is a MINOR player in heart disease, secondary to the things that REALLY cause heart disease. Your doctor– like most of them- is treating a number not a patient” (the following is the link to see the entire chat thread: https://www.facebook.com/lifescript.health/posts/10151310605806247 )

Between that chat and all the new information coming out, I’d also rather eat my cholesterol than have my liver over-produce.

My intentions really were to share tonight’s meatloaf recipe, so let’s get down to brass tacks.

Start with your fillers of choice. Today I used bacon, country ham, swiss, cheddar, eggs, chow chow, and chopped pickles. My binder was Parmesan cheese.

Start with your fillers of choice. Today I used bacon, country ham, swiss, cheddar, eggs, chow chow, and chopped pickles. My binder was Parmesan cheese.

Mix all your fillers and you will get something that looks like this:

mix well, I like using a whisk. Once mixed well, add your ground beef. Mix well, but don't over do it.

mix well, I like using a whisk. Once mixed well, add your ground beef. Mix well, but don’t over do it. (I also use salt, pepper, garlic powder, and dehydrated onions)

It is easiest if you break the meat up into your fillers and mix with your hands. Because I have fingernails, I use gloves.

All mixed up, don't know what to do? My bad, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

All mixed up, don’t know what to do? My bad, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Preheat your oven to 350°. Grease a loaf pan or casserole dish (I like glass). I am doing a two pounder, so I’m using a 9″ x 9″ casserole. Mash your meatloaf into the pan to not have air pockets, make a little indenture into the middle to prevent a hump.

This is how I do it to make my meatloaf more even

This is how I do it to make my meatloaf more even

If you’d like to top it, top it, onions, mushrooms, onions and mushrooms? It’s up to you.

this is last week's meatloaf. Bacon Mushroom Swiss, and yep, it was pretty darned awesome.

this is last week’s meatloaf. Bacon Mushroom Swiss, and yep, it was pretty darned awesome.

I like to put my dish of choice onto a somewhat larger pan to catch any drippings. I bake it for about an hour, and then use oven mitts to carefully drain it into a metal container. When the poured off fat is cool enough to handle, I pour it into a bag for the pigs. The goal is to not waste anything.

Once I’ve drained it, I mix mustard and ketchup (look for ketchup that has no high fructose corn syrup) for brushing the top. I really like whole grain mustard, but any will do.

Just think of meatloaf as a hamburger free from the encumbrance of a bun.

Just think of meatloaf as a hamburger free from the encumbrance of a bun.

Put it back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes. Remove from oven and let it rest about 10 minutes prior to cutting.

Feel free to share your own meatloaf recipes. I would leave you today with a picture of something like I normally do, but I think you’ve seen enough pictures for today 🙂

For more information on Dr. Jonny Bowden, visit his website: http://jonnybowdenblog.com/

2 thoughts on “Not My Mama’s Meatloaf

  1. Shannon, I am very much enjoying your daily blogs and am looking forward to experimenting with this meatloaf recipe! What percentage of fat is the ground beef you recommend?

    • Hi Debbie, Thanks 🙂 For meatloaf, I like 73/27. The higher fat ground beef tends to make a more moist meatloaf. I pour off the fat before putting back in the oven, and then pour it off again when it’s done. Have a great day 🙂

Feel free to comment

