Squid stuffed tomatoes

I was inspired by the blog post What’s in My Fridge. to check out my fridge and found it lacking. Leftovers, partial jars of this and that and of course the essentials for a LCHF’er (bacon, butter, eggs, cheese).

Inspiration led to motivation and I decided to play a little game for dinner, “Chopped Low Carb Greenbrier Edition”.

"Chopped" Low Carb Edition

My ingredients: olives, Roma tomatoes, green bell pepper, marinated artichoke hearts, Bleu cheese crumbles, green olives, grated Parmesan, and tinned squid in ink sauce

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350° Cut three Roma tomatoes in half lengthwise. (I started with 2 but ended up with too much stuffing. 3 was perfect)

Step 2: Hollow out tomatoes, reserving the insides.

Step 3: Chop veggies into small pieces. (I used the insides of 2 Roma tomatoes, 2 marinated artichoke heart quarters, 6 green olives, about 1 1/2 oz green bell pepper)

Chopped veggies with squid in ink sauce, drained.

Chopped veggies with squid in ink sauce, drained.

Step 4: Open and drain the tin of squid in ink sauce, add to chopped vegetables.

Step 5: Add 2 T Bleu cheese crumbles to squid and vegetables, mix well. (*maybe you’re thinking, “bleu cheese? is she mad?”, seriously, I would have used Feta if I had some, but the bleu cheese was a pleasant surprise, nice and tangy like feta, but melted better)

Tomato stuffing, all mixed up

Tomato stuffing, all mixed up

Step 6: Spoon stuffing mixture into each tomato half. Place on a butter or olive oil coated baking dish. If your tomatoes tilt, carefully slice off a bit of the bottom to make a nice flat surface. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over the tops.

Step 7: Place tomatoes in preheated oven and bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

The finished product, not too shabby for a fridge clean-out.

These tomatoes turned out great. If you like squid, give it a shot. If you are scared of bleu cheese, feta should work nicely. Since I ended up making six instead of four I’ve already got lunch ready for tomorrow, which makes me so giddy, I may just have to high-five myself.

Feel free to comment

