“It’s called Dawn Phenom, your liver thinks you’re starving”

It’s amusing now, but after several years of upping the medications, I was clueless. Dr. Atkins really helped me to learn what to eat, but I was still hungry. I ate breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack every day. While I was eating the right things, I was still not eating the right way for my body.

One Friday in June of 2011, Dr. Christie noticed a notation I had made on my food journal “Woke up – tested sugar 151??? What???”. I was doing everything right, but did not understand how my blood sugar could go up while I was asleep. I didn’t remember getting up in the middle of the night with the late night munchies. She told me that sometimes the liver over produces glucose if your blood sugar goes below a certain number while sleeping, it was normal.

I asked a lot of questions on the net and kept coming up with the same answers “Eat a little snack before bed so your body doesn’t think it’s going to starve”. All I could think of was how much I was already eating and that I wouldn’t get much sleep if I woke up every couple of hours to keep my blood sugar stable. There had to be another way.

I was stuck at a crossroad, keep going on the same path and hope for different results, or take the road less traveled, even “poo-pooed” as gibberish by most of the hard core Atkins followers, and maybe find something that works for me. Besides, I had already learned to “take what I need and leave the rest”, I would never know the results unless I gave it a whirl.

It’s funny how once you take that initial leap of faith that future leaps tend to be more spontaneous, you don’t think too much about it once you get the gist of it, ask yourself “what’s the worst that could happen” and just go for it. And that dear friends is exactly what I did.

A brave lady posted in a forum I frequented about this Doctor who lost a lot of weight by eating when he was hungry and getting “back to nature” so to speak by fixing his circadian rhythms. He was Primal, not Atkins, not too much of a leap, besides all those low carb candy bars were not helping me with my blood sugar or my slow weight loss, I could quit them.

If you are fairly new to becoming “optimal” in regards to your health and well being, you might be surprised to find out that the Primal Doctor with the “wild ideas” was Dr. Jack Kruse  and that his wild idea was a thing called “My Leptin Rx”.

First off I had to make sure I was leptin resistant to begin with. Sure enough I was. Then all of a sudden there was a pot of gold at the end of his rainbow of information, I was going to learn to eat when I am hungry… 

I really thought I was eating when I was hungry. I thought I was broken because I was always hungry. My problems with dawn phenom were keeping my hbA1c just high enough to still require 500mg Metformin twice a day and glipizide on most mornings. What was the worst that could happen if I ate cleaner food and maybe ate less often?

This crossroad taught me a couple of things, 1. thinking does not equal knowing, it’s good to change your thoughts time to time. 2. What’s the best I can accomplish from this decision? The sky is the limit in all truthfulness. Later down the line, Dr. Kruse taught me to see it and be it, I am a starfish, I don’t have to settle for doing ok when I can achieve greatness, but that’s another story for another time.

If you are not getting where you want to go though just low carb alone, remember as individuals, we are all different. One size does not fit all, nor does one diet. Take time to learn what works with your body and if something isn’t working, try something else. I only hope that you don’t give up because it’s “too hard” or you aren’t losing weight on a daily basis. Everything worth doing is worth doing right, take your time and learn from your journey.

To learn more about Dr. Jack Kruse, visit his website, http://www.jackkruse.com

To learn more about his Leptin Rx and find out if you are eating out of hunger or habit, check it out, http://www.jackkruse.com/my-leptin-prescription/  who knows, it may be your pot of gold too.

By September 2012, I had lost the need for glipizide all together and lookie there, I think my smile is growing…

Image

Feel free to comment

