A Sunny Saturday Morning

This weekend ended up being a busy one, time was precious, but well spent. It’s funny how just a few years ago I was lacking time because I was lacking energy and just feeling bad. Don’t get me wrong, we did things, went places, but it was always on my mind that people were looking at me because of my size. I was uncomfortable in my own skin, a “Debbie Downer” for my husband because of my need to eat every couple hours to keep my blood sugar stable, and my total lack of laughter. How can you laugh when you are uncomfortable, irritable, and tired? Even with all the love and laughter this weekend, I still remembered my past and am so grateful for my present and the future that is more possible than it once was.

Saturday started off early, I like early, I sleep good now, so getting up early not only gives me more time in a day, but it gives me time to just relax and enjoy a cup of coffee and be thankful that I awoke another morning. After enjoying a nice breakfast of bacon with my family, my daughter and I went to my sister’s house and then we were off to Scottsville, KY to pick up some hog feed and visit the Amish market.

The things I took for granted in the past, I enjoyed Saturday. We get our hog feed at the Amish feed mill. We were quite lucky to get to see the mill “running” this past Saturday. They do not use electricity, they use real horse power. It was nice go be able to go back in time for just a little bit, things are slower than in the modern world, but really on a sunny Saturday morning, slow is better to enjoy the sights and sounds. It gave me the chance to think about how much better life is now that I have time to really appreciate it.

A Saturday in Scottsville is not complete until we go to the Amish market. My sister got her goat cheese and my daughter got green bean and carrot chips. I opted for the okra chips and cheddar cheese curds. As always, we were not disappointed.

For years I worked long hours and for some more years I was a morbidly obese type 2 diabetic, so I never spent much time with my sisters or anyone really. These trips to Scottsville help me to get to know my sister again, we are not the same little girls or teenagers that used to fight all the time. I hope she enjoys our trips as much as I do.

Not long after putting up the feed and feeding the pigs the left overs I had kept frozen for this day, my sister called. We had talked about goats for a good part of our conversation, and she had found a goat farm nearby. Would we like to go? Of course we would. We had another mini trip to the goat farm, saw some really nice ones and ended up deciding that when we get some they will be pygmies. (I do miss Cody, my African Pygmy goat)

We decided to stop at the Tractor Supply Store to check the cork board for goats. It was really cool that when we pulled into the parking lot, they were having an FFA and 4H mini show. Ducks, chickens, ponies, puppies, and goats! There were a couple of pygmy goats. They are such cuties, they look so innocent, but be careful, they are ankle butters!! They were penned, so we were safe. Lucky for us (or should I say lucky for our husbands), the animals were not for sale, only for show, or we would have put a couple in the back of her car.

A few years ago, this kind of Saturday morning would have been my “whole weekend”, little did I know it was only the beginning of one of the best weekends of my life.

Here is a picture of our pigs when they were little, ok they were never little. In this photo they were around 25 pounds each. They are presently around 150 pounds each. When talking about them we call them “Sausage, Bacon, and Ham”. There are two girls and one boy, we try to give them the best life possible. Even food animals should have a good life.

Image

One thought on “A Sunny Saturday Morning

  1. Pingback: “I’m right here, can you see me?” | mydiabetesandme

Feel free to comment

